We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming a long long way” 3 of 5 stars
Review of University of Southern Mississippi

University of Southern Mississippi
Long Beach, MS
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Long Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Mississippi's largest educational institutions.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Coming a long long way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

After being virtually destroyed by Hurricane Katrina the Gulf Coast Campus is starting to really bounce back. A lot of the buildings have been repaired or rebuilt and the grounds are starting to retake the natural grand feel. So much of the city of Long Beach is still in ruins that it remains a work in progress.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality starts at Southern Miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our first trip to Southern Miss was 4 years ago. And it was by far the best trip we have taken following our Boise State football team ever. We are coming back to play again this year.
Forget the scoring (at least in my case). This place is awesome!!!
We were treated like old friends coming to join a festivity. Everyone was so inviting, so charming. It was a pleasure to visit this school.
Their tailgates are par to none. They have them before and after the game. And they invite the visiting fans to joing everyone of them. I never understood the meaning of southern hospitality until I went to their school... Now Shouthern Miss University is the standard I measure all the schools we visit.
We are going back to visit them this year and we staying longer to see more of the city and their wonderful and welcoming community.
Boise State fans travelled everywhere, and we all agree this is the best place to visit and tailgate outside of Boise.
Go Eagles (but I still want Boise State to win)
I will recommend visiting this school for any event, you will feel happy and safe everywhere you go.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Mississippi, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Blues under the oak and yoke of friendship.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I recommend the blues and jazz fest held annually. Good food music and fellowship.I visited the gulf coast campus in Long Beach.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Go Eagles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Neither of us are alumni, but we love USM and its influence on Hattiesburg. Whether it is football, softball, baseball, and women's soccer ~ or theatre & dance productions, symphony performances, art shows at the campus museum, science cafe, and guest lecturers ~ or classes with the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute, the Karnes Center for Gifted Studies, or other departments ~ the University is a vital part of Hattiesburg! Just wish more residents took advantage of the programs! Looking forward to more great things from USM in the future (can't wait for Southern Arena Theatre to start this summer!!)!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biloxi ms
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“beautiful campus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

a small but nice campus. for a local university this small campus, part of the USM hattiesburg university, has several good programs with nice facilities and great instructors.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of Southern Mississippi also viewed

 

Been to University of Southern Mississippi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University of Southern Mississippi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.