We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Darwell's Cafe

Darwell's Cafe
127 E 1st street, Long Beach, MS 39560
+1 228-868-8946
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Long Beach
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Come in for some Great Food and Music. Remember BYOB on all Adult Beverages.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We enjoyed our lunch here! It's a fun casual atmosphere with lots of options for southern dishes. The red beans and rice are fantastic, and everything has good flavor. The dishes are different than similar dishes we have had in Louisiana as they tended to be more cream based. The service was excellent and everyone was very friendly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    32
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pass Christian, Mississippi
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Dinner with Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had a group of 8 meet here for a group dinner. We have some great food, live music and the inside has a funky vibe matching the owners personality. No one in our party complained about any of the food we ordered. My crawfish etouffee topped with blackened shrimp. Excellent dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Love Darwell's Café. You can't go wrong with the food. It has never disappointed! They don't serve anything fried - what?!?! No fried?? I love fried food and I promise you won't miss it. The food here is excellent! The Prime Rib sandwich and the pasta Yum Yum are divine!

Now, as for the atmosphere - its so fun! Crazy and eclectic are the words that come to mind. They have live music many nights and with our beautiful Gulf Coast atmosphere, the outside seating is great! They don't have a bar, but you're welcome to BYOB. (and conveniently there is a liquor store right down the street!)

A great place for anyone, but tourists especially shouldn't miss it!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great service, food was OK.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Just went to lunch here today. The service was outstanding from the second we walked in. It may have just been what I ordered, but the food was average at best. Another person in our party had the “Fat attack” sandwich that looked pretty good, but everyone else said their food was just OK. I will most likely give this place another chance, I will just make sure to order something different. Price was also a bit high in comparison to similar restaurants in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fresh, Local, and Healthy-ish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I had lunch here with a large group of business travelers. We spread out across a few tables (the biggest table only seated about six people), some indoors and some on the patio. The place is decorated with local artwork and it is bright and colorful (almost child-like). The owner (Darwell) came and introduced himself and explained the menu when our group arrived - his thing is that they don't fry anything...a rarity in Gulfport.

I had the build-your-own salad with blackened salmon (special of the day), and it was great. It was definitely fresh, and the fish was cooked perfectly and had great flavor. Others at my table ordered sandwiches and other salads and they were all pleased. We were all stuffed when we left - even those of us who got salads.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darwell's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Darwell's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darwell's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.