We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, Local, and Healthy-ish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Darwell's Cafe

Darwell's Cafe
127 E 1st street, Long Beach, MS 39560
+1 228-868-8946
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Long Beach
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Come in for some Great Food and Music. Remember BYOB on all Adult Beverages.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fresh, Local, and Healthy-ish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I had lunch here with a large group of business travelers. We spread out across a few tables (the biggest table only seated about six people), some indoors and some on the patio. The place is decorated with local artwork and it is bright and colorful (almost child-like). The owner (Darwell) came and introduced himself and explained the menu when our group arrived - his thing is that they don't fry anything...a rarity in Gulfport.

I had the build-your-own salad with blackened salmon (special of the day), and it was great. It was definitely fresh, and the fish was cooked perfectly and had great flavor. Others at my table ordered sandwiches and other salads and they were all pleased. We were all stuffed when we left - even those of us who got salads.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    32
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Awesome unique atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Wonderful service, such a unique menu, and everything I have tried has been delicious! Every time I am in town I have to stop there. Always a wonderful experience. The staff is very helpful, friendly and they are very quick to serve you which always helps when you are on a short lunch break. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Mississippi, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WAY OVER RATED!!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Guy Fieri must not have taste buds or he has to announce that he is checking out a place because if they served him what we ate the show would have never aired. I will say that the etouffee is awesome. I would eat that all by it self. My burger had no flavor and was crispy. My youngest had a quesadilla that was burnt and I cant remember what the other two had but they were not very good. The service was good and the staff was nice. We were skeptical when we went there to begin with and that is why we ordered easy to make items that a sandwich shop should have no problems with. I sure am glad I did not pay steak house prices for their steaks or other over priced items that were suggested by the staff.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, MS
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“delicious filet mingon!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

went sat night to darwells to see the Florida Boys - they are just the greatest band. tried their 8 oz petit filet mignon and it was supurb!!!! better than any steak house i have been to down here. cooked just right and served with a salad and a side - i choose the grilled asparagus, and that was great also. my friend had the blackened sirloin tips with blackened shrimp and that meal also was delicious. i like the byob policy and that they are casual and relaxed. all in all, a great dinner and a great night!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It deserves the hype!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great food, great band, we really enjoyed our dinner! It was a little slow, but they were really busy, and the entertainment made it worth the wait!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darwell's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Darwell's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darwell's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.