We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn & Banquet

Budget Inn & Banquet
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Budget Inn & Banquet
1525 Ellis Avenue, Jackson, MS 39204 (Formerly Jacksonian Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 47 hotels in Jackson
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nightmare”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010 via mobile

When we came to this [--] we should have known. The room is nasty. The bathrooms floor has brown spot on then,the ceiling in the bathroom are falling down. They have dogs,roaches,rats and silverfish in the room we're in. The carpet has iron marks on them the couch is very nasty. They don't come for room service and they never have towels (not that we use them for our use I put them on the floors in the bathroom) they gave us a room with dog [--]on the floor under the sink. The front desk is rude and they don't care at all. I give this hotel 2 months before they be closed down!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonjafor4, Director of Sales at Budget Inn & Banquet, responded to this review, May 6, 2010
Beginning in March of 2010, the hotel has been under new management and the remodeling has begun. Our staff has been reviewed and the appropriate changes have been made.Also, our newly appointed head housekeeper, personally guarantees the cleanliness and comfort of each room. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced & would appreciate the opportunity to serve you again.

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    1
    2
    7
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
work
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2007

I recieved a discount and that was the only way the room was worth the price. There was nothing terribly wrong with the property. I was just extremely outdated and located in the"hood" In the middle of the night a fight broke out in front of my room.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort walton beach
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

this hotel was not worth the money, both beds in the room we finally got were broken. the first room we got was not cleaned. the second room had the hot water running constantly and would not shut off so it was like a sauna and the walls and floor were wet. then at night there were people running all around liek a big party place had to call the front desk two times but was told security does not come to work until 11 and they would do something then. the door lock was broken but finally got it to work then it would not unlock in the am so i could leave. called the front desk she said she would call maintenance. after 15 minutes i called the front desk and told her if they could not get the door open i was breaking the window. needs better rooms and needs to be maintained better, bad customer service

  • Liked — close to interstate
  • Disliked — broken beds, broken door locks, partiers on property, poor desk service, no maintenance
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

I had a good night at this hotel. It is located near downtown along I-20. It is an older property which is undergoing some renovation. My room was clean and satisfactory and the public areas were pleasant. I would stay here again.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

Just returned to Birmingham, AL from a convention in Jackson, MS.
This hotel was in terrible condition, I can not believe it can remain open with all the issues we saw.

There were bugs, roaches and silverfish. Also killed two spiders in my room alone. Several others also mentioned the same.

The bathroon ceiling was peeling off and falling.

Some days no room service, and the other days usually about 4 PM.

Water in shower sometimes spelled like urine. Water would also turn extremely HOT without notice. Very dangerous! Also mold and mildew in the bathroom.

Also, we constantly had to go to the office and get new keys. One day I went 4 times for keys, the locks were always changing.

The office and the workers were not helpful and most could not communicate enought to understand what was being requested.

I hope I never experience another hotel in the condition this one is in. ALL of our group should have left the day we arrived!

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2006

When we arrived at the hotel there was a line so we waited which was not a problem. As I was standing in line there was a crash and something struck the back of my foot so hard it nearly knocked me down. I discovered it was a display they had in the lobby which was made of solid wood. As I am writhing in pain I waited for a staff member to come and assist. No such luck!!! I sat down on the sofa not being able to stand. Finally, my mother had to go and make them file a complaint. I was told that they could call and ambulance to take me to the hospital if I felt I needed to go. I wanted to go so I said yes.

To make a long story short I finally had to drive MYSELF to the hospital use my own insurance to cover the cost and they said they would reimburse me! The first room they assigned me to smelled as if there had been a flood in there. There was mold above the door and the A/C unit had no control buttons-so you could not see what setting it was on. After calling down several times I was finally moved to another room. Not much better! Needless to say since I was on crutches my entire stay because of something that happened in their hotel I would not stay there again if they PAID me!!! If I were you...Stay anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2006

i wanted a nice place to spend my 31st wedding anniversary; that didnt happen. i was given a suite. when i entered. IT WAS OCCUPIED. they gave me another suite. and IT WAS DIRTY AND COVERED WITH CONSTRUCTION EQUIPMENT. i went to get my money back and they would not give me my receipts. said my credit card was not charged. i am waiting to see if they charge me for BOTH rooms on my credit card. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO MY WORST ENEMY OR MY PET. I WENT DOWN THE STREET TO THE HAMPTON INN. IT IS GREAT.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Budget Inn & Banquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn & Banquet

Address: 1525 Ellis Avenue, Jackson, MS 39204 (Formerly Jacksonian Inn)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 47 hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In addition to our regular single & double rooms, we also offer a beautiful penthouse suite and several smaller suites at very reasonable rates. The hotel is currently being remodeled and updated. We offer banquet space to accommodate up to 500 people and catering to please most any palate. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hotel Jackson
Jackson Quality Inn
Quality Inn Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn & Banquet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Budget Inn & Banquet to your Saves list