We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the greatest, but ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Jackson North

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Jackson North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Jackson North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   616 Briarwood Dr, Jackson, MS 39211   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 47 hotels in Jackson
US
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Not the greatest, but ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

It is an old LQ and it shows.

Yes, the carpet is newer as is the TV and very comfortable mattress. There is a limited TV channel selection with 3 Showtime channels, but all of them are in HD. Very nice! Hotel location is very convenient to North Jackson / Ridgeland with shopping, restaurants within couple of miles. That much for the positives.

The check in was fine; we booked king room on line (and requested second floor), but were told they are only on ground floor, so double beds it was. The room is tight, we found hair in the bathroom and dust bunnies under the mirror. Wear and tear is visible everywhere, from the hard to close doors to sticky faucets. Bring your own pillows as the ones provided are hard and lumpy. There's no mini fridge or microwave in the room we rented, major disadvantage.
Breakfast was just average with prepackaged bagels and muffins, cereal and hard boiled (not peeled) eggs we did not dare to try. Fresh fruit were oranges and apples. Again, we did not try or care.

This would be 2 stars review were it not for the price. At $55 (including tax) this is a good deal for a day or two and when in the area we would stay again. Longer than that look elsewhere.

This property would make for a great no name hotel; LQ need to do major renovation to bring it up to the standard. But the price can't be beat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    44
    32
    27
    29
See reviews for
41
38
23
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Good location for our stay, centrally located to suit our purposes. Hotel was updated and modern, clean, and we felt very safe, security was very good. Lots of reasonable options to est within short to minimal distance. Staff was polite and helpful. Great dollar value, already booked again for second stay. would definately recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a very nice motel I really enjoyed it the price was great and the location was good the room had was very clean and fresh I would stay again if I every travel to Jackson again. The breakfast was very nice but they should have more to chose from the location was quiet I was even able to bring my pet along with me I would recommend this motel for someone to stay this was very nice keep up the good work!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Branch, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We just needed a cheap place to stay on our way to New Orleans, and this fit the bill. The beds were very comfortable, and they had a little breakfast in the morning, typical yogurt, waffles, juice. The desk clerk was very friendly, and the room was clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

This place is ok for the price. It is, though, pretty Spartan for a LaQuinta - dated look throughout, cheap towels, ugly carpet. If you stay here do not let them stick you on the north side of the motel if you have any meaningful work to do on your laptop. The wifi signal is practically nonexistent, which is inexcusable for what you are paying. I was too tired last night to try to change rooms but it will affect my decision to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I would not stay at this hotel because it was not clean and we ad to move to several different rooms after driving 12 hours to get here for a funeral. Very dissatisfied with he overall conditions of their rooms and the unapologetic staff at the front desk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A friend and I checked into this hotel. At first encounter, the guest services agent was rude and unwilling to help. The quality was okay, for the rate. Upon entering the bathroom, my eyes immediately set on a long dark strand of hair on the bathtub. I work in the hospitality industry, so I'm aware that mistakes happen that are out of your control; so I removed the hair with no hesitation. I remained calm about the situation, I was tired and had been traveling all day. At bedtime, I went to pull the covers back and discovered another long, dark strand of hair. All I can say is, if I wasn't tired and it wasn't late I definitely would not have stayed the night at this location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Jackson North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Jackson North

Address: 616 Briarwood Dr, Jackson, MS 39211
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 47 hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Jackson North 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Jackson North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Jackson North Hotel Jackson
Jackson La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Jackson North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.