We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & near Capitol - Free Parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson Marriott

Save Saved
You added Jackson Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jackson Marriott
200 E Amite Street, Jackson, MS 39201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #11 of 47 hotels in Jackson
Pebble Beach, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Quiet & near Capitol - Free Parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

As a PLATINUM level of Marriott's frequent guest program, my rooms are usually always perfect. My preferences (away from elevator & soda/ice machines & no feathers) are always respected - EXCEPT HERE.

I had to change rooms, as they put me next to the soda/ice machine and across from the elevators. To top it off, my bed was complete with feather pillows and a down comforter.

The Concierge Lounge was comfortable. The breakfasts were good, and the evening snacks wee not quite enough to make a meal out of.

Staff was friendly, but front desk was disorganized.

Room Tip: INSIST on something that is not under the Concierge Lounge. Otherwise, you hear them setting up for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    42
    25
    15
    12
See reviews for
19
20
8
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We travel to Jackson regularly and always stay at this property. The parking is so convenient and the breakfast buffet is always good. The bar offers some food as well. It is downtown, so there are no restaurants within walking distance in the evening, but it is easy in and out. Walking around downtown in the daytime is great, the capital is very close. The Catholic Cathedral is on the same block too. The staff could not be more accommodating and the views are pretty cool!

Room Tip: Ask for a room up high, it is fun to see the city below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Talk about southern hospitality! This was our 1st trip to Jackson, and we weren't sure what to expect. From the moment we drove up, we were treated like old friends. Everyone we encountered at the hotel was friendly and helpful. The property itself was spotlessly clean. The beds & pillows were some of the most comfortable we've ever encountered. We chose to include breakfast in our package also. The food was delicious and restaurant staff was wonderful and accommodating. Hotel is within walking distance to the governor's mansion, old capitol, Capitol St., Mayflower Café, and other historic sights and places of interest. There was also PLENTY of hot water and great water pressure, which is frequently an issue at some hotels. It was very quiet, offered a great view, and just an all around pleasant experience. My kids loves it because the front desk staff presented them with their own Angry Birds pillowcases upon arrival. Would HIGHLY recommend and definitely plan to return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The staff alone makes this hotel a destination but you will be disappointed with the rooms that show age tv's were old with limited channels bathrooms were dirty and shower pressure was poor. If it was not for the staff there would be no reason to stay there

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was impressed with the service and support from the staff. The front desk was attentive and pleasant, the manager was on site to greet me, and the bell staff were helpful and courteous. I loved the downtown location and the ability to walk to my business meetings, restaurants, and entertainment. The Capitol and the Governor's Mansion are only blocks away and offer great tours. The people in Jackson are so friendly. I loved my time there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you need a downtown location, this hotel is great. The rooms are well appointed in typical Marriott fashion. However, the customer service cannot be beat from the friendly doormen who volunteered with a smile to take our luggage to our room ahead of us, to the friendly receptionist who got us a good room to the polite and pleasant man who delivered our breakfast to the room. Even when I called to ask for an extended checkout, I couldn't have been greeted more pleasantly and agreeably. I enjoyed my stay!

Room Tip: I think the higher floors give a nicer view over the city and are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooreville, Mississippi, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is in a great location if you must be downtown near the State Capitol building and other state offices or if you are attending a convention, like I was. It has been here for many years, but it has been kept up very well, except for the convention rooms. They are a bit dated and the sound systems are also getting old.
The hotel restaurant, like most in hotels, is not a bargain, but the food is good. Even though the price is fair, considering, they will get another $12 per day for parking.
There are a number of newer, nicer, hotels in the area and in the North Jackson area. The Hilton, for one, and the North Jackson area has great shopping and a great selection of restaurants. Stay a few miles North of downtown and you will be closer to the action, except for the government, that is.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jackson Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson Marriott

Address: 200 E Amite Street, Jackson, MS 39201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Jackson Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson Marriott Hotel Jackson
Marriott Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.