We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good school” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson State University

Jackson State University
1400 Lynch St, Jackson, MS 39217
601 979 2281
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #10 of 42 attractions in Jackson
Type: Educational Sites
Attraction Details
miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good school”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very good college to go to i wouldn`t mind going very friendly people always having good acitivities

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Pearl, Mississippi, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awful excuse for education”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This place is a joke. Anyone can attend, I mean anyone. Campus security can't keep up with all of the crime here. A teacher was robbed and shot in the face after her biology lab a few semesters ago. Why waste your time or pay for an essentially WORTHLESS education? Sports have been suspended for various reasons. Plain unbelievable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice school.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I happened to be in the neighborhood after touring their small fire museum which was fun. The school itself is nice. It definitely looks and feels like it is Jackson's University. I didn't take any official tours. Just strolled campus as it was holiday break, not in full swing. I probably would have enjoyed a tour if I could learn more about their history/alums, etc. I'm not so sure a school would be a recommended tourist attraction though, maybe if you have some extra time in town.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My Baby is Grown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My youngest daughter graduated Saturday morning. I liked that the event took place, but I did not like how early in the morning it was (8 am). It was foggy out, but JSU directed the traffic well.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great HBCU - Urban University”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Jackson State University is a jewel in the middle of the state capital of Mississippi.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson State University also viewed

 

Been to Jackson State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson State University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Jackson State University to your Saves list