We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Very average, poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Julep Restaurant & Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Julep Restaurant & Bar
4500 I-55 North, Suite 105, Jackson, MS 39211-5509
(601) 362-1411
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Julep Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 330 Restaurants in Jackson
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Northside Drive and Frontage Road
Description: At Julep we believe too much of a good thing can be wonderful. And that's exactly what you can expect when you experience the delightfully creative menu featuring the freshest and finest ingredients presented in the most unexpected fare imaginable!
Montreal, Quebec
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Food Very average, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

The place is grungy and semi cool but the food is very average. I was recommended the sashimi apetizer which came within 1 min. The sashimi was packed with so much rice and was extremely bland. I thought sashimi came without rice!! No? I took the specialty of the house, the fried chicken for the main meal. It was ordinary. I've had better fried chicken in Montreal.
Service was very poor. The server practically shoved the ate in my face. Not impressed and would not go back

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    44
    15
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
1,017 reviews 1,017 reviews
667 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 225 cities Reviews in 225 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
“Good menu one of the best in Jackson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

4 plates of fried chicken for the table, menu looked great wished we would of found this restaurant a little sooner. Fried chicken is different, but in a good way. It has a honey glaze to it, which is a little on the sweet side but very good.
Very popular hang out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good dish and dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I loved the shrimp and grits dish. However, my favorite dish was the catfish taco with the strawberry pecan salad. I topped it off with a slice of Bailey's irish cream cake. The slice was a nice size and very rich. The dessert was expensive. The strawberry cake it good there too.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant in Jackson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is one of my all-time favorite restaurants. The food here is vastly varied and delicious. Known for its fried chicken, nearly everything on this menu is good. Both dinner and brunch offer excellent options. The speciality cocktails are creative and fun. There are several different types of martinis that should absolutely be tried, especially the wedding cake martini.

This restaurant is excellent regardless of if you sit at the bar or in the restaurant. Julep usually gets crowded quickly - so get there early to ensure a good seat!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
598 reviews 598 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
423 helpful votes 423 helpful votes
“Fried Chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Seriously. Get the fried chicken. Don't go there for anything else. Order the fried chicken. If you don't like it, I'll refund your money!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julep Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Julep Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Julep Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.