We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to place for burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rooster's

Rooster's
2906 North State St., Jackson, MS 39216
601-982-2001
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 335 restaurants in Jackson
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner, Hamburgers, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Description: We are a local, family owned and operated business that has been in business since 1984. We are in the Fondren Corner Building in the Fondren District. We are a family restaurant, with family values, children are welcome and entertained with color sheets, crackers, whatever the need be to make them have a pleasant dining experience. We serve lunch, dinner and do take out as well. We also do Corporate Catering, and make ordering and delivery as easy as possible for you. We handle a lot of Pharmacy Reps as well as Medical Sales Reps. And your order is just a text away. Call if we can be of service, I would love to have your business... Kathy Glenn
Jackson, Mississippi
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Go to place for burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is our go to place for burgers. I would rate it excellent for the burgers, and I love the 1950's atmosphere, but alas it is only a burger place and not fine dining. It is locally popular at lunch. Its located in a good area for eating. There is everything from burgers to the city's finest restaurant located within a few blocks.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    24
    19
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to eat when visiting Jackson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Took my family plus one here for lunch before visiting the Mississippi childrens museum and we loved it. The lady behind the counter helped us make the perfect choices and I fed 5 people for $45! What a deal! We will definitely come back here!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awesome burger, even better banana pudding!q”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I can't speak to anything else here but the burgers because they're so good I don't want to try anything else here. Big, juicy, well seasoned burgers on a home baked bun. I want one now. I always save room for the banana pudding that reminds me of how my mom used to do it.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better than Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

We found this little gem of an eatery on our way to Florida for vacation and would recommend it to everyone!! The food was terrific, the atmosphere cute and the waiters/waitresses made the visit perfect. Take the time to visit this one!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmwood Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“what a cute place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Fast service, good food - very popular with the locals. A mix of burgers, salads, soups, and bread puddings.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rooster's also viewed

 

Been to Rooster's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rooster's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.