We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family owned - family feel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crechale's Restaurant

Crechale's Restaurant
3107 Highway 80 W, Jackson, MS 39204-2227
601-355-1840
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 341 Restaurants in Jackson
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: American
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Tallahassee, FL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Family owned - family feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Small, but quaint family restaurant. You can tell it is where the locals eat! Owner mingles and knows a lot of the customers, special birthday greetings, etc. the price has gone up since I was last there - more than you would expect from a family restaurant. But our friend is local and it was a fun night!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, MS
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We love seafood and decided to try this highly recommended place. The food was very good and super fresh. The wait staff was attentive and pleasant. The atmosphere was dated (70's) BUT I felt like I was in my grandmothers house . Very causal and laid back. Stuffed shrimp, scallops, soft shell crab .. Yum!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Like eating in a honky tonk”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

On Dec 21, we went there for a family Christmas Dinner, there were eight in the party. We had reservations, the tables were not set up as requested. The music was so loud you could not hear, we asked them to lower the volume, they didn't. The food: stuffed flounder and beef kabobs were great, the fried seafood platters were awful. Will not return.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hasn't changed in 50 years!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I am 70 years old, and my first visit to Crechales's was for lunch with my parents on the day I graduated from high school! Have been a regular since! The food is always wonderful...the service good...and the atmosphere (well, it's just Crechale's)! The seafood is fresh...the beef high quality...and the onion rings are the best ever!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Looks Can Be Deceiving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Don't be put off by the exterior of this roadside dive. Even the interior can feel like a time warp back to the mid fifties. Crechales was the first fine dining restaurant in Jackson that wouldn't break the bank.The wait staff is reliable and as experienced as they come. The food, which is why you want to go in the first place, is always fresh, served hot and with a smile. They specialize in steaks which are lined up raw in the visible chiller in the front near the cash register. Their second claim to fame is their whole flounder deboned table side and swimming in a fine juice of butter, lemon juice and Worcestershire sauce. They don't want you filling up on salad so it is modest by any standard but if you put their bottled dressing which is waiting on the table for you, on a saltine cracker. you might discover what the fuss about Kumback sauce is all about. It boasts a very friendly crowd which is in no part due to the ever present owner Bob who really does know everybody and will graciously make introductions. They have a very loyal clientele who think nothing of driving 50 miles or more just for their favorite...........

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crechale's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Crechale's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crechale's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.