We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Farish Street Historical District
Farish Street, Jackson, MS 39202
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 53 things to do in Jackson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wander around this historic neighborhood that runs from Amite Street across to Fortification Street and Mill Street to Lamar Street, to see old homes, shops and other buildings, many of which were built by former slaves whose descendants still live and work in the area.
Carthage, Mississippi, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

There is nothing there. Has potential, but right now - don't waste your time. The street is looking better all the time, but that is all it is a street - no businesses or attractions.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    1
    5
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, MS
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Crack Head Ridden”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I attend law school in this district. The area is full of drug addicts, prostitutes and muggers. I pack a pistol every day to school because the area is so horrible.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very dangerous area for white people to walk in.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

I'm from Jackson and if you are white in this area make sure you have a gun on you. It is a very dangerous part of town. Jackson has the 4th highest crime rate in the country. If you are looking for prostitutes though you'll find 100s here after the the sun goes down.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Vibes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The history, commaraderie of races, food, music, fun, just relax and enjoy the good times.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Homeland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I am waiting for it to be restored to exciting area it was when I was a child in the 60's-70's

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farish Street Historical District also viewed

 

Been to Farish Street Historical District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farish Street Historical District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.