We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Medgar Evers Home

Medgar Evers Home
2332 Margaret Walker Alexander Drive, Jackson, MS 39213
601-981-2965
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 42 attractions in Jackson
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Penryn
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

60's were embarrassing as a US citizen. Eerie looking at house and visualizing him being shot in the back in cold blood.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Had a powerful visit to this historical home. You must plan ahead and book a private tour (you make a donation if you wish ... money was never discussed). I spoke with Minnie and she gave our family an incredible tour of this home. We learned so much about Medgar Evers ... and you really should see the movie, "Ghosts of Mississippi" prior to your visit. Stop by the public library within a mile of this house and you can see a Medgar Evers statute in the courtyard ... also, go in to the library and they have a few small exhibits on Mr. Evers' life.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Such a sense of history!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Such a sense of history - Medgar Evers was assassinated in his driveway by a coward. That coward was finally brought to justice many years later.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Moment in History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I couldn't believe I was standing in the exact location where this Civil Rights Leader was massacred. I felt as if I could feel his spirit. It was a very meaningful and spiritual experience for me.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“a personal experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

good for history buffs.....a new look as how life has changed

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medgar Evers Home also viewed

 

Been to Medgar Evers Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medgar Evers Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Medgar Evers Home to your Saves list