We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Medgar Evers Home

Medgar Evers Home
2332 Margaret Walker Alexander Drive, Jackson, MS 39213
601-981-2965
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 42 Attractions in Jackson
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Deerfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Had a powerful visit to this historical home. You must plan ahead and book a private tour (you make a donation if you wish ... money was never discussed). I spoke with Minnie and she gave our family an incredible tour of this home. We learned so much about Medgar Evers ... and you really should see the movie, "Ghosts of Mississippi" prior to your visit. Stop by the public library within a mile of this house and you can see a Medgar Evers statute in the courtyard ... also, go in to the library and they have a few small exhibits on Mr. Evers' life.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Such a sense of history!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Such a sense of history - Medgar Evers was assassinated in his driveway by a coward. That coward was finally brought to justice many years later.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Moment in History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I couldn't believe I was standing in the exact location where this Civil Rights Leader was massacred. I felt as if I could feel his spirit. It was a very meaningful and spiritual experience for me.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“a personal experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

good for history buffs.....a new look as how life has changed

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Back to the future”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Great piece of history. Learned a lot with hopes to improve the future.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Medgar Evers Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medgar Evers Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;