We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“* Located right across from FairGrounds... not a good part of town (can fish in Crystal Lake)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   614 Monroe Street, Jackson, MS 39202 (Formerly Microtel Inn And Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 47 hotels in Jackson
Anamosa, Iowa
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“* Located right across from FairGrounds... not a good part of town (can fish in Crystal Lake)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was really surprised when we arrived at the number 1 rated hotel in Jackson and it was located right across from the fairgrounds, in not a great part of town, behind a Wendy's and construction going on.

Why is it rated number 1? I HOPE that there are better hotels in Jackson! If not, Jackson is doomed!

We didn't have a bad stay, but the hotel is not number 1. It is an old-old property that was redone. You can tell this by where the building is located and by the pool. The pool is old, outside, and only three of 15 lights work. It is not clean (hair/debris in the pool) and not safe. I didn't want to leave my kids (10 and 14) for a minute... there were construction workers using the pool and it just didn't "feel" safe.

Was the hotel clean? Yes. The breakfast was good. The room was a Comfort Inn room.

Would I stay here again? Probably not. I would HAVE to think that there are better hotels located in a better part of town.

If you are interested in fishing, go to Betsy's Bait. They will direct you to Crystal Lake. It is a nice place and the kids enjoyed fishing.

Please note... ALL the restaurants around that part of town are CLOSED or do not serve supper on a Monday evening. We drove all over town and ended up eating at the Wendy's right behind the hotel for supper. Not sure why this is (even the grocery stores were closed).

Happy travels!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    33
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
36
25
9
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband & I stayed here June 21st. This hotel was everything I wanted. It was very clean, quiet, close to the interstate and it had hot/cold breakfast. The room was very nicely decorated and had a small refrigerator/freezer. The parking was good. I would like to give credit to Win for making sure that we had all that we needed. He is a very friendly and courteous employee. I would advise staying here. Thanks again for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The staff was extremely nice. The property is newly renovated and close to everything. Great value and would definitely stay again. Arrived late and was greeted with a smiling face and cookies. The room was smaller than we would have liked but met the needs for the little time we were at the hotel. Glad to have a micro fridge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff is very friendly and hard working. The hotel, rooms, and pool are VERY clean. We had had a great Continental Breakfast every morning. Eggs, sausage, bacon,waffles, danishes, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal, juice, coffee, etc. always stocked and fresh.
We were in Jackson for a 5 day 4H Horse event.
If I could change things up...It would definitely be the the parking...it's a bit tight for a pick up truck. Vans and cars are fine, but a few of us had trucks...
We'll definitely be back next year.
We appreciated Win's very hard work!

Room Tip: The rooms are SMALL.We only slept in ours, so we didn't mind. There were 3 of us and shared 2 qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Definitely a step above others in the category, this Comfort Inn has been recently renovated and is continuing to improve the exterior with more flowering trees and shrubs. This is a 2-story structure with interior doors and an elevator.

The room was not spacious, but it was nicely decorated, very clean, and comfortable. We slept very well in our quiet location on nice linens and the best bed of our trip. Fridge and mic, fast internet, free USA Today, and coffee and tea all day. In the morning you get a reasonable hot breakfast, including scrambled eggs, sausage, ham and waffles, along with assorted breads, pastries, yogurts, hard-boiled eggs, etc.

Pool was nice and clean. The hotel also has laundry and work-out facilities that we didn't use this stop.

If you want to visit downtown or the farigrounds, both are very close as are a number of fast-food and sit-down restaurants.

We'd stay here again as it is convenient from the highway yet in a quiet location, and nicer than most Choice hotels.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are likely the quietest, facing away from the main roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We read the TA reviews about this Comfort Inn and and confer with all. The hotel is updated and very comfortable and clean. Bed and linens more than satisfactory. But the nicest surprise was the service! From the moment we arrived, the front desk treated us as guests - more like a concierge - helping us with dining selections, calling ahead to see about reservations, printing directions. Proximity to Highway 55 made this location an excellent choice too. Highly recommend. Oh, and while we prefer a resort/5 star hotel, this property was especially suitable for our return travel from the beach to our home in Texas!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stopped in late on our road trip. The desk clerk was accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was good! I'm pretty picky and I highly recommend this hotel. Great value!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 614 Monroe Street, Jackson, MS 39202 (Formerly Microtel Inn And Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jackson
#2 Family Hotel in Jackson
#3 Best Value Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is now open after a full renovation under brand name Comfort Inn. We are located at 614 Monroe St, Jackson, MS. We are off of High Street on I-55. Mississippi State Fairground/Coliseum is right across the street from us. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel with interior corridor. Our hotel amenities includes free hot breakfast, high speed wireless internet, fitness center, business center, guest laundry, and an outdoor seasonal pool. All our guestroom includes 42" flat scree TVs with 100+ channels, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, desk with ergonomic chairs. One king room consist of a separate sleeping and a living area with a king bed and sofa bed. It has spacious work area for business travelers to work comfortably. Our 2 queen bedded rooms is the perfect Choice for a family to stay in and enjoy the 42" flat screen TVs with vast selection of channel for everyone in the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Jackson
Jackson Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.