We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for college visits” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabot Lodge Millsaps

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cabot Lodge Millsaps to your Saves list
Cabot Lodge Millsaps
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2375 N State St, Jackson, MS 39202-1150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Jackson
Dalton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Location for college visits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We arrived on Thurs. June 20. We were visiting Belhaven University for freshman registration so the proximity to Belhaven was great, literally just a couple blocks away. Check in was quick and efficient. The staff, during our entire visit were courteous and professional. The hotel was clean and the lobby/ social area was large and very comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was very good with a variety of choices ranging from biscuits and gravy, eggs, meats to cereals. Staff was on hand to replenish and keep items well stocked.
The only negative during our visit was in our room. When we entered our room, there was a musty/mildew smell. The room itself along with the bath was very clean however. The odor could simply be age, I don't know. The only other item of note was during the night the sink was backing up, so there may have been some hotel plumbing issues occuring. If the room had not been as clean as it was, the above items could have been a reason to not visit again. But really the experience was fine. Now if we visited again and the same issues reoccured, then we probably wouldn't return, but we will be back for a second try, because the positive outweighed the negative.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie072, General Manager at Cabot Lodge Millsaps, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your views concerning your recent visit to Cabot Lodge Millsaps. The entire staff and I are are pleased to hear what you think about our service and facilities.

We are looking forward to your next visit and hopefully we can make some improvement to the negative concern that you mentioned. We will do our best to provide a clean and inviting atmosphere for you.

Sincerely,

Ronnie Roe
General Manager
Cabot Lodge Millsaps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    45
    17
    18
    10
See reviews for
30
16
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Guest floors need a new coat of paint, ceiling tiles out of place, stained carpets, odor in rooms, you'd be better off at a major chain. This hotel is ready for an upgrade. Don't stay if you have allergies.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie072, General Manager at Cabot Lodge Millsaps, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your experience while being a guest at the Cabot Lodge Millsaps. All of us are pleased to know that the service and Lobby were deemed to be pleasant. We are disappointed that we failed to provide you with a total pleasant experience of our facility.

However, we do value your comments and we have already had the guest floor corridor carpets cleaned and re-arranged the out of place ceiling tiles and we will strive to further make improvements.

Once again thank you for sharing your comments with us.

Sincerely,

Ronnie Roe, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Cabot Lodge Millsaps for my daughter's graduation, May 9-13. The experience was horrible. The staff was rude and not helpful at all. They acted like they were doing me a favor by letting me stay in their hotel. Any number of things went wrong:
1) Toilet in room was broken
2) Phone in room was broken
3) Wi-Fi didn't work
4) housekeepers came to room at 8:15am to clean, banged on the door and almost broke it because the bar that prevents anyone from coming in was still locked because we were still asleep and we asked them to come back and they never came back.
5) The coffee continually ran out at the breakfast bar and the way was up to 20 minutes for a pot of coffee to be put out
The staff didn't care if they helped you or not. It was terrible!
This was the second bad experience that I have had in the past three weeks with this Cabot Lodge. I suggest you never go to this hotel. We will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I travel to Jackson, MS frequently and I am glad I found the Cabot Lodge Millsaps. My first stay was in July, 2011, and I have been back to this hotel many times since. I really like the friendly, helpful staff, the free parking, the free breakfast with lots of selections, the free Wi-Fi, and the short drive to downtown. Overall, the hotel is an excellent value. The only reason I didn't give the hotel an "excellent" rating is because the rooms, although perfectly acceptable, are a little bit dated and the HVAC systems are a little noisy. But I have never had any problems whatsoever with this hotel, so I definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The front desk staff is very willing to accommodate requests for room preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie072, General Manager at Cabot Lodge Millsaps, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Paul H:

Thank you for your comments concerning the Cabot Lodge Millsaps. The entire Staff and I do appreciate hearing what our Guests have to say about our facility and services.

It is always our pleasure to serve our True Boss, the Hotel Guest.

Thank you,

Ronnie Roe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little rock, arkansas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was here for a bridge tournament. I left the room early to play and my husband stayed in the room. He was going to have lunch out at about noon and was going to remove the DND sign from the door when he left.

At 11 AM there was a letter placed under the door stating since the sign was out the housekeepers would not clean the room. Are you kidding me? I have been in hotels all over the world and have never had a housekeeping service state they would not clean a room after
11 AM. They did give us clean towels.

I went to the desk to complain but got nowhere. There were housekeepers still on the floor in the afternoon. One would think that the policy would be to keep guests happy.



If this hotel has such a policy I think the guest should be informed of it upon check in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie072, General Manager at Cabot Lodge Millsaps, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I wish to thank you for sharing your comments concerning your recent stay at the Cabot Lodge Millsaps. We do appreciate hearing from our guests whether with a good experience or a not so good experience.

I can tell you the situation you described is not our normal procedure and I have discussed this with both the Executive Housekeeper, who was not on duty during the period you were here, and the Room Attendant that serviced the area where your room was located.

I do apologize to you for this inconvenience and hope that you will allow us to be of service to you the next time you visit Jackson, Mississippi.

Sincerely,

Ronnie Roe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is very nice. It had a very nice breakfast alot to choose from. Popcorn popped for guest there. Very nice location and the staff were very nice and friendly. Rooms were a nice size and clean. Nice lounge to watch tv and visit if your with friends. Many restaurants near by.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie072, General Manager at Cabot Lodge Millsaps, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind compliments. We do enjoy knowing that our Guests like our facility and services.

Ronnie roe, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The location of this hotel is great, perfect for our overnight stay in Jackson. The kind of guests reflect its location; mainly medical staff, academics, patients or their families. This is NOT a party hotel, which suited us just fine, and is the reason for the title of this review.
The Happy Hour was pretty depressing to be honest, and the staff gave us the impression they would rather have been anywhere else. The decor in the dining room might not be to everyone's taste; I loved it. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean, the beds are very comfortable (got a great night's sleep) and the breakfast in the morning was one of the better ones we had in a six week American road trip.
Overall, this hotel is great value. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie072, General Manager at Cabot Lodge Millsaps, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to Cabot Lodge Millsaps. We are very pleased for the most part but we are very disappointed the of your review of the Hospitality Reception and the attitude of the staff. I will certainly look into this situation and strive to improve both the attention of Staff and Service.

Sincerely,

Ronnie Roe, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cabot Lodge Millsaps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabot Lodge Millsaps

Address: 2375 N State St, Jackson, MS 39202-1150
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabot Lodge Millsaps 2.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cabot Lodge Millsaps is the perfect headquarters hotel for both business and leisure travelers to Jackson, Mississippi. Our superb services and amenities coupled with Cabot Lodge warmth and hospitality will bring you back again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cabot Lodge Millsaps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabot Lodge Millsaps Hotel Jackson
Cabot Hotel Millsaps
Cabot Hotel Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabot Lodge Millsaps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.