We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing respite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabot Lodge Millsaps

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cabot Lodge Millsaps to your Saves list
Cabot Lodge Millsaps
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2375 N State St, Jackson, MS 39202-1150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Jackson
Missouri
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Relaxing respite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Liked the location in Jackson, in the middle of things. Very close to a trendy neighborhood with interesting restaurants, though route to same not very walkable.

Loved the lodge-y lobby and gathering area. Very roomy without being cavernous; plentiful arrangements conducive to small-group (or solo) conversations over a drink or breakfast. Fireplace. If I were at this hotel for a conference, I would also really love this space.

Friendly staff; helpful in making calls, finding directions.

A good breakfast in the morning with a reasonable number of choices for people regardless of their dietary wants. Coffee is acceptable.

Nice drinks in the evening. Popcorn as the munchy every evening except for Wednesdays, evidently, when something more substantial rolled out.

In regard to the room. Cosmetically, room looked restful and pleasant. Nice artwork on walls. Beds made up prettily. I was there in December. It was a little disconcerting not to have a heavier weight duvet and cover, thus needing to rely mostly on the proper temp control. But this was mostly a psychological thing, not a real problem. Fortunately, I had a sweatshirt I could wear to bed.

A small touch, but I appreciated the wood hangars in the closet area.

The bathroom was a little more problematic. Clean for the most part, but grime in some of the tub grout was immediately evident. The bathroom door touches the toilet bowl when you open it wide. I was kind of surprised there was only shampoo in the bathroom, and not also the usual accompanying conditioner and lotion.

Price-wise, when Super 8s offer refrigerators/microwaves in most of their rooms, I'm a little surprised that you've got to bump up another five bucks at Cabot Lodge to get the same.

Free wifi throughout the hotel property, which is nice. Free parking.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    41
    13
    17
    9
See reviews for
25
15
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

I stayed here one night and enjoyed the time. I did not try the free breakfast but the bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We have a young adult attending Belhaven University and have used other hotels in Jackson before. Sometimes we chose them to try and save a dollar or two or other times because we thought they were perhaps better than Cabot Lodge. We could not have had a better experience. The downstairs lodge area is great for meeting with others, having a snack, or just enjoying a quiet area to read or play a board game as a family. The breakfast was tremendous and saved us money each morning by keeping our family well fed. The rooms were kept up well and more than adequate for the limited time we actually spent in the rooms. The staff were friendly and accomodating to any request we had. It's close proximity to Belhaven allowed us to walk to events. Security in parking lot also a plus. Great deal.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We have stayed here 3 times while visiting college students. The hotel is nothing fancy but it is clean, the breakfast is good, the beds are very comfortable, and the staff is wonderful. The only negative are the tiny bathrooms which are pretty old and seem outdated in comparison to the rooms. they are clean though which to me is more important than updated tile. The free Wifi as well as the free computers in the lobby where you can print out boarding passes are also very nice benefits.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

This hotel will never win any awards for architecture or style, but everything does what it's supposed to do, and the staff were very helpful indeed ( we were supposed to stay somewhere else, but there had been a booking error, and we ended up here instead.)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriere
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

The hotel staff were awesome! Wonderful, hot, breakfast every morning. Rooms were very clean and the beds very comfortable. Cocktail reception every evening was an added bonus. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucedale, Ms
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011 via mobile

Front desk staff friendly and gave great recommendations for a local steak & seafood restaraunt. The room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was too small. Seemed to be a lot of guest mingling in the lobby when I checked in, nice. Grabbed an Apple for breakfast, but there was a nice spread.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabot Lodge Millsaps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabot Lodge Millsaps

Address: 2375 N State St, Jackson, MS 39202-1150
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabot Lodge Millsaps 2.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cabot Lodge Millsaps is the perfect headquarters hotel for both business and leisure travelers to Jackson, Mississippi. Our superb services and amenities coupled with Cabot Lodge warmth and hospitality will bring you back again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cabot Lodge Millsaps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabot Lodge Millsaps Hotel Jackson
Cabot Hotel Millsaps
Cabot Hotel Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabot Lodge Millsaps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.