We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst meal in a long time” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Petra Cafe & Hookah

Petra Cafe & Hookah
2741 Old Canton Road, Jackson, MS 39216
+1 601-366-0161
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 341 Restaurants in Jackson
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Greek, Hamburgers, Lebanese, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Description: Petra Cafe serves authentic Greek, Mediterranean, and Lebanese cuisine. This restaurant is perfect for casual dining or great for groups. Hookah is available.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst meal in a long time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

A friend and I there for dinner. We ordered our meal. I order a kabob. I could not eat it. My friends was just as bad. Terrible. Will not return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petracafe, Owner at Petra Cafe & Hookah, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
I am disappointed that you were not able to rave about your meal as the majority of our customers do. We take great pride in preparing all of our meals from the heart with the best cuts of meat, fresh organic ingredients and authentic imported spices. As the owner, I am at the restaurant practically all of the time and ask all guests if they are satisfied with the food. Perhaps we did not ask you this particular time. Had I known about your dissatisfaction, I would have done everything possible to make sure you were satisfied and happy to have chosen Petra Cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I was somewhat skeptical the first time I visited as there were not a whole lot of people there. Since then I have been numerous times as the food is good and the staff is friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibodaux, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Loved the food. Can't wait to go back . Atmosphere good, service good. What more could you want? Hummus was definitely homemade and well seasoned. Hookah was a new fun experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIZELIA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“It was OK, 3 1/2 stars but you can't give 1/2.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The lamb was very good and so was the chicken and humus. We ordered the Lebanese ice tea, but we got a lemonade drink, no pine nuts. Could have been a mixup. It wasn't bad, but wasn't what we ordered. Also the stuffed grape leaves were stuffed mainly with air, very little filling. I wish they had just said they were out, instead of trying to stretch the contents. I lived in Greece (Crete) for 1 1/2 years, so I got a chance to eat lots of Med food. I had eaten at this location a few times before when it was the same type of food, but a different name. Don't think I'll go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Aman's new place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have known the owner for years since he started his first restaurant in Ridgeland in 2007. The food is authentic Mediterranean and the spice is "just right". The service is spotty at times, but I highly recommend the lunch buffet!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petra Cafe & Hookah also viewed

 

Been to Petra Cafe & Hookah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petra Cafe & Hookah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.