We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun but expensive.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Babalu's Tacos and Tapas

Babalu's Tacos and Tapas
622 Duling Ave, Jackson, MS
601-366-5757
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 341 Restaurants in Jackson
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Latin, Mexican, Seafood, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Opened last week by a very accomplished team of restauranteurs in the area. Alternate website is www.eathere.com. I had the braised beef ribs and lamb tenderloin tapas. This place is going to be another hit. Phone number is 601-366-5757
Natchez, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun but expensive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Fun variety in a menu. Three plates and 5 drinks added up to $75. 8 in our party. Waiter is knowledgeable and pushing the duck special. Turned out to be good, but a little rubbery. Good craft beer selection and specialty drinks; Babarita. Tuna taco, catfish with chipotle tartar sauce taco were excellent. Chicken and mole was OK. Smoked duck gumbo was excellent.
Also, filtered cold water; important if you have a boil notice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    40
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Mississippi
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Imaginitve menu, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The best thing about this restaurant is that the food is simply delicious.

The hamburgers have been rated number one in Jax, I am told. These are not your classic patio-grilled sandwiches, though. They include bacon, pepper jack cheese, guacamole, caramelized onions, peppers, and chipotle sauce on a sweetish bun. Different, but the flavors are quite good.

My wife had the pork belly bbq tacos. Very flavorful, served Memphis-style with coleslaw.

We will return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Absolutely no negatives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

First tapas restaurant and I will return her often. Great service, excellent menu and food. Really a fantastic atmosphere. Also enjoyed watching silent reruns of I Love Lucy projected on the walk.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fun and creative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

this is one of jackson's most enjoyable restaurants. many people love the guacamole (as do i), but i find their specials and many other things on their menu to be creative and delicious.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and have a drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Get the burger! It was voted the best burger in Jackson for a reason. You won't be disappointed. Babalu is also a good place to get an after work drink.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babalu's Tacos and Tapas also viewed

 

Been to Babalu's Tacos and Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babalu's Tacos and Tapas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.