We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beacon on a hill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   209 South Gallatin Street, Jackson, MS 39203   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 47 hotels in Jackson
Kennesaw, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beacon on a hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in kind of an industrial location, I would not want to be walking around outside after dark. But the hotel itself is modern, spotless, and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
6
1
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I visit Jackson at least 3-4 times a year and I make it my business to stay at the Sleep In in Downtown Jackson. The rooms are always immaculately clean, as well as the whole facility. The staff is warm and friendly and provides me with the southern hospitality I miss when I'm at home in New York.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way to New Orleans. We were not familiar with the area and booked this online. First of all, it isn't in a great location. It says downtown, but it should say the outskirts of downtown... definitely not downtown! There is a metal fence going around the hotel and you have to use your room key to even get into the hotel. We heard sirens 2 or 3 times in the one night we stayed there. When we walked into our room it smelled like dirty feet or gym shoes... NOT GOOD! Also, the place didn't appear to be that clean for only being 2 years old. Your could see smears and finger prints on the walls. The only thing that saved this hotel is the common area seemed cleaner and breakfast was provided the next morning. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband, son and I just returned home from a 4 day stay at Sleep Inn in Jackson and were pleasantly surprised to find one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at. It is clean, modern and decorated beautifully. The morning breakfast was very good with many hot and cold choices. But the best part of this stay had to be the staff at this hotel. I felt like we were leaving family when we checked out. You will not meet a nicer bunch of people anywhere. And we spent our days exploring the city and found the people to be very friendly and gracious. Southern hospitality is alive and well in Jackson, MS. They are revitalizing the city and it shows! Good job Jackson and thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My first experience at this Sleep Inn was back in 2011 and when I am in Jackson this is my only choice. The staff is welcoming, accommodating and they go out of there way to make sure the property is well maintained. The breakfast offers a great selection, although I wish they would offer fresh fruit of some kind. Don't worry about the location, you will be safe and you'll be glad you stayed.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floor facing building front offers great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The reviewers are right. The hotel is very nice indeed. The lady at the reception was very friendly, helpful and so cheerful.
The hotel is bright and clean and well looked after. The rooms are large and very comfortable.
We had problems with the room phone and they immediately sent someone to check and then help us move to another room.
It is true that it is not the prettiest part of town but I appreciate their effort to revitalize the downtown. You have to start somewhere..
I felt perfectly safe there. I 'd stay there again and again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here on Sept 19 on way to TX. After reading reviews, I decided to give it a try. The neighborhood is not the best, road to it in very bad condition and a lot of old shut up buildings. Hotel itself is quite nice and parking lot is big and fenced in. Check in was quick and easy, room was very nice, beds comfortable and the $80 rate wasn't bad. Breakfast was pretty good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown

Address: 209 South Gallatin Street, Jackson, MS 39203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.