We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Terrible Location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   209 South Gallatin Street, Jackson, MS 39203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Jackson
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Terrible Location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I stayed at this hotel during a trip to Jackson for business. The hotel itself is nice, clean and new, but the location is a few blocks from downtown and is an awful part of town. I was informed a few days later by an employee at the mall in Ridgeland that the part of town I was staying in was the "hood". She also told me that next time I should stay in North Jackson near Ridgeland or Flowood. I will take her advice and will not be back to this part of Jackson. I suggest that unless you need to be near downtown to do the same. Travelers should know that Jackson overall not a very safe place, so take that advice into account when making travel arrangements, especially if you are a single female or have children.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Dmngmnt, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us how you feel about our hotel. We are happy to know that during your visit we fulfilled our resposibility and obligation to you, our guest, to make your stay a pleasant one.

It is unfortunate that you feel our location is not a good one. We do not agree. There are no great tragedies or statistics to report since our opening. Also, we have had a school teacher in our hotel since August of 2011 with no issues to report in connection with her long-term stay.

Please be aware that the city of Jackson has many plans for downtown. We anticipate a lot of changes to come for the good. It is our hope that you not banish downtown, embrace the future of our city center.

Thank you again for recognizing our commitment to hospitality and service. Please remember this when you are choosing lodging again in Jackson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    20
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
7
2
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hammond, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

My Family and I stayed at this Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown just a couple of days ago. (9-2-11 thru 9-5-11) We have nothing but good memories about our Labor Day weekend! The entire staff (from the Hotel Manager even to the Security Guard on duty) was very professional, accomodating, and most of all, very kind to us. This hotel staff will make you feel so welcome from the very first time you enter their doors. No need to wonder about breakfast because there's a wonderful breakfast buffet every morning. You would be mistaken to judge this hotel by the location because the location doesn't do the hotel justice. Don't take my word for it, just go there and experience it for yourself and at the end of your stay like us, you won't be ready to leave! Over the years we've been to many hotels in Jackson, MS and we've dealt with many good staffs but so far we can truly say that, this is "Jackson's Finest!"

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Dmngmnt, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
There is nothing greater or better than for a human to look back on his/her hard work, and see positive fruitage of the labor and toil involved in it.

Your words have brought much joy to our hearts. We appreciate your taking the time to recognize us. Thank you. It is folks like yourself that spear us onward, motivating us to continue. Please afford us the greatest compliment and honor by returning.

Thank you so very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Maryland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I was in Jackson visiting family. This hotel was recommended. I had never stayed in a Sleep Inn and did know what to expect. This hotel is located in downtown Jackson near the new convention center (walking distance). It is a new hotel. The rooms had a modern sleek feel. There is a fridge and microwave in each room which is a nice bonus. I looked the tile on the bathroom floor. The hotel had the feel of an upscale hotel at budget prices. There is a breakfast in the morning which was average. Where this hotel really shines is the staff. The staff is friendly and helpful. The manager was cheerful and helpful. I even noticed one of the front desk staff trying to help a lady(a student at one of the local colleges) who was staying at the hotel find permanent housing. That was going above the call of duty for the front desk. You definitely will enjoy your stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Dmngmnt, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
We are so very happy that we wowed you. Really, the surprise is that in doing what we love, we bring a measure of joy, happiness and surprise to our guests. The rewarding part is that people like you take the time to recognize our efforts. Thank you.

Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed here 3/11 on our way to FL and again on 3/19 on our return to DFW. Hotel appears to be new. Linda Kay at front desk said they opened Dec 2010. Check in with without problem on both visits. Room had enough space for two double beds and just enough room for a roll away. As requested the roll away bed (with sheets, pillows,etc..)was in our room waiting on us. Comfy beds, plenty of pillows, cool a/c and color tv. On night of 3/11 (actually early morning of 3/12) we heard some loud laughter coming from a nearby room. After only a short period of this nuisance, I heard security knock on the door and must have evicted them because the noise stopped for good. Kudos to the management for not putting up that BS.
Breakfast next morning was much better than usual free offerings. It included hot biscuits & gravy, sausage, eggs, hashbrowns, waffles, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruits, juices, sweet rolls and coffee. Lady kept it fresh all morning. Enjoyed so much we stayed here on return trip instead of stopping in Mobile. One warning, it's in an older part of Jackson, just south of Downtown, about 2 miles from I20. We saw security around 24/7 and always felt safe.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Dmngmnt, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
We like the grade you gave us. Thank you.

The nicest thing that can be said to those who love serving others is that we righted a mishap. We are not perfect, but we are proactive customer service agents. We are happy to know that we were able to gain your trust, confidence and approval by doing our jobs.

Please grace us with your return, and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

This Sleep Inn opened just after Christmas 2010. Because it's brand new, it's super clean. Not only is it new, it's beautifully decorated. The bathroom vanity isn't just a vanity like most hotels, it's a piece of furniture like you'd see in a luxury hotel. Floor tiles in the bathroom look like a grass/sisal rug. Flat screen tv in the room is mounted on noise reduction panels so the next door neighbors aren't bothered. Breakfast was great! Eggs, sausage patties, sausage gravy, biscuits, waffles, the usual juices, cereals, and yogurt. We were here on a college visit and the hotel is only 15 minutes from the college. It's on one end of the downtown area if you're here for a convention or going to the fair grounds.
The neighborhood appears to be on the upswing; there are some derelict buildings nearby, There is some road noise but that was easily covered over by keeping the ac/heat fan running all ngiht. That will not deter me from staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Dmngmnt, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
The title to your comment alone is such a nice compliment. Thank you for your time and attention to our work in your behalf. Such words are both heartwarming and encouraging. Please allow us to serve you again. Continue to let us know where we stand with you and how we can be better for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown

Address: 209 South Gallatin Street, Jackson, MS 39203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.