We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great renovated hitel downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 West Capitol Street, Jackson, MS 39201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Jackson
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great renovated hitel downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I always stay here when I'm in Jackson. This is a really well done renovation with modern amenities in an a historic downtown building. Looking outside your room window at the downtown area looks as if you are looking back in time. they have a very good breakfast and cute bar/nice lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    135
    50
    29
    12
See reviews for
85
69
32
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Diamondhead, Mississippi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The King Edward Hotel (Hilton Garden Inn) is a beautiful restored property. The public areas are stunning. Congratulations to the owners for adhering to the historical aspect of this jewel. The service, however, is lacking. No coffee in our room...called guest services...waited an hour...called again...waited 45 minutes...then went down to the lobby myself. The man at the front desk seemed as if he as "inconvenienced" by my request. He told me to "run on back up to my room" and he would have it delivered. NO! I waited 15 minutes for the coffee I had requested repeatedly for 2 hours.

The rooms are also very small...which is a result of this being a restored property. I would of hoped they would have combined two rooms into one....and the room was already in need if repair...a hole in the door, peeling wallpaper....next time in in Jackson, I'll stay at the Hyatt.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Although downtown Jackson is rundown and a bit desolate, the King Edward Hilton Garden Inn is a bright spot. We stayed here twice on our way to and from Destin, Florida, and both times were greeted with the same warm welcome and great service. Our room was spacious and clean, and the hotel itself is beautiful and located in an historic building. We had breakfast on our first visit. Our omelets were delicious and the cook even checked to make sure we enjoyed them. On our way home, during our second stay, we had dinner and drinks. Again, we were treated to great service and food. The employees here aim to please.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Love it! Would highly recommend it. Don't be scared off by surrounding area, it is in original downtown area. Very close to Jackson State University. The staff is very friendly and eager to please. The manager and his assistant are very personable and helpful. The breakfasts are awesome. Very clean, rooms very comfortable and functional.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Beautiful rebirth for this hotel. It used to be the King Edwards Hotel and they even kept some of the charm and character of the hotel. I think the hotel shoukd offer free breakfast like the Hampton but its okay because at least they have a restaurant where you can order what you want. My bed was kind of hard and the adjuster was broken I slept okay. I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We stopped off in Jackson on the way to Memphis to break up the journey from New Orleans. As soon as we walked in we knew we had made the right choice of hotel. It is beautiful refurbished 3 years ago. The staff are lovely and some of the friendliest we have encountered in the USA. The room is clean, very big and luxurious with all the necessities and more. The shower is one of the best we have used. We used the pool and hot tub and had them to ourselves. The food was scrumptious, some of the best ribs we have ever tasted and a good price. The hotel has a coin laundry and also runs a free mini bus anywhere you want to go even just to the supermarket. We loved this hotel and had a really relaxing stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

There aren't a lot of good hotel options in downtown Jackson. If you're looking for brand new and sparkling accommodations, look elsewhere. But the Garden Inn is a decent choice. The lobby is gorgeous and historic and staff are very friendly and helpful. Be prepared to pay for parking regardless of whether you use valet or park yourself.
My room was adequate and clean. I do not like Garden Inn beds. Although adjustable, they are VERY firm and difficult to sleep on. My bed was no exception.
As others have pointed out, the water from my faucet was tea-colored. Very unappetizing. I stuck to bottled water, available for purchase in the lobby. Apart from that, I'd stay here again if I had to stay downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown

Address: 235 West Capitol Street, Jackson, MS 39201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Jackson
#4 Best Value Hotel in Jackson
#5 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown Hotel Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.