We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in downtown Jackson” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 West Capitol Street, Jackson, MS 39201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in downtown Jackson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Although downtown Jackson is rundown and a bit desolate, the King Edward Hilton Garden Inn is a bright spot. We stayed here twice on our way to and from Destin, Florida, and both times were greeted with the same warm welcome and great service. Our room was spacious and clean, and the hotel itself is beautiful and located in an historic building. We had breakfast on our first visit. Our omelets were delicious and the cook even checked to make sure we enjoyed them. On our way home, during our second stay, we had dinner and drinks. Again, we were treated to great service and food. The employees here aim to please.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    157
    57
    32
    18
See reviews for
101
85
38
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Love it! Would highly recommend it. Don't be scared off by surrounding area, it is in original downtown area. Very close to Jackson State University. The staff is very friendly and eager to please. The manager and his assistant are very personable and helpful. The breakfasts are awesome. Very clean, rooms very comfortable and functional.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Beautiful rebirth for this hotel. It used to be the King Edwards Hotel and they even kept some of the charm and character of the hotel. I think the hotel shoukd offer free breakfast like the Hampton but its okay because at least they have a restaurant where you can order what you want. My bed was kind of hard and the adjuster was broken I slept okay. I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We stopped off in Jackson on the way to Memphis to break up the journey from New Orleans. As soon as we walked in we knew we had made the right choice of hotel. It is beautiful refurbished 3 years ago. The staff are lovely and some of the friendliest we have encountered in the USA. The room is clean, very big and luxurious with all the necessities and more. The shower is one of the best we have used. We used the pool and hot tub and had them to ourselves. The food was scrumptious, some of the best ribs we have ever tasted and a good price. The hotel has a coin laundry and also runs a free mini bus anywhere you want to go even just to the supermarket. We loved this hotel and had a really relaxing stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

There aren't a lot of good hotel options in downtown Jackson. If you're looking for brand new and sparkling accommodations, look elsewhere. But the Garden Inn is a decent choice. The lobby is gorgeous and historic and staff are very friendly and helpful. Be prepared to pay for parking regardless of whether you use valet or park yourself.
My room was adequate and clean. I do not like Garden Inn beds. Although adjustable, they are VERY firm and difficult to sleep on. My bed was no exception.
As others have pointed out, the water from my faucet was tea-colored. Very unappetizing. I stuck to bottled water, available for purchase in the lobby. Apart from that, I'd stay here again if I had to stay downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed just to stay in what was once the run down old King Edward building. The hotel was very nice, especially if you can grab a room for under $100. Room service was mediocre, but nice for the price, I guess. Breakfast had a lot of options, but I'd suggest going elsewhere. Not a bad deal all in all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The drive into Jackson to the hotel was very depressing, through very poor areas of the city. This is not the disappointing part though. The room was pretty small, there was only enough coffee for one of us to have a cup in the morning and I felt that the room hadn't been cleaned thoroughly after the last guests. The beds were very rumpled when we pulled back the covers and my bed had a small spot of what looked like blood on it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown

Address: 235 West Capitol Street, Jackson, MS 39201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Jackson
#2 Business Hotel in Jackson
#3 Best Value Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're attending an important business meeting, visiting historic sites or enjoying a Mississippi vacation, Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown provides all you need to be your best. Rest comfortably in a bed with adjustable firmness or work efficiently at the large desk while seated in an ergonomic chair. All guest rooms and suites provide high-speed internet access, a refrigerator and microwave, so you will have everything you need to prepare for a successful day. At this Downtown Jackson hotel, we take care of life's details so you can focus on being your best while traveling. Review your meeting agenda or plan a day of sightseeing as you enjoy a cooked-to-order breakfast in the King Edward Grille, or savor classic American cuisine and Southern dishes for lunch and dinner. Our 24-hour Business Center and complimentary high-speed internet access enable you to keep in touch with your colleagues and family or take care of work tasks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown Hotel Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.