We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 West Capitol Street, Jackson, MS 39201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #6 of 47 hotels in Jackson
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel at least once per month during 2011. I highly recommend it. They have done an excllent job of restoring the old King Edward and the rooms are clean and modern.
The staff at this hotel makes you fell like home, from the valet (Pat) to the front desk to the cleaning staff to the restaurant staff -- everyone is helpful and has a ready smile. The in-house restaurant is delicious. Well-cooked, tasty and affordable food.
Downtown Jackson on the other hand, leaves much to be desired other than this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMAC2010, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Truly, you've made our day! Many thanks for the accolades to our team. Indeed it was our pleasure to serve you.
Kind regards,
Marlene Macaluso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    121
    46
    27
    11
See reviews for
76
65
29
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Tx.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is a beautiful, historic hotel. The room was clean, quiet and i loved the adjustable bed. There were multiple HBOs on the TV and the internet was reliable and fast.

The lobby attendants were nice and the hotel allowed for a late check out.

The only issue I had with the room was the lack of blackout curtains. The light from the street kept me awake.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This Hotel used to be the King Edward Hotel years ago. The building sat on Capitol Street for many years with the windows busted out, pigeon poo and homeless people lived in it. The city finally renovated it and it is SPECTACULAR. I have stayed twice now. My husband and I most recently stayed NYE night and were very impressed. The rate was only 109.00 and the valet was only 14.00. The valet were so helpful and fast. Upon checking in, the ladies at the front desk were more than helpful in getting us in earlier than the 4:00 p.m. check in time. We were able to check in at 3:00 with no problem. The elevator system is a little tricky if you want to go to the indoor pool which is by the way super nice with a hot tub and a view of the very state of the art fitness center. If you want to go to the pool, which is on the basement level, you must use the Middle elevator to get to it. I am still confused on why it is set up that way but we learned the system fast but it is a pain to leave your room and wait on the middle elevator, it may not come so you would need to take one of the other elevators to the lobby and then get on the middle elevator to go down, confusing right? Other than that, the staff was lovely, the bar and outdoor patio are so nice. We will plan our 2013 NYE night there next year without a doubt. If you are new to Jackson, this is the place to stay HANDS DOWN! Also, Hot breakfast in the morning, not included but priced reasonably and very delicious. Freshly prepared Omletts, Biscuits & Gravy, sausage, hot and cold bar, DELICIOUS coffee. Love it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I've stayed at The Hilton Garden Inn a couple of times and with each visit I've encountered extremely helpful staff and nice rooms with great beds. While I wouldn't give it a five star rating, it is the classiest hotel I've found in Jackson, MS. It's conveniently located in the heart of downtown. Across the street from the hotel are a number of run down old commercial buildings that give the area a rougher feel than what I've personally experienced there. I didn't feel unsafe walking at any time. It's also across the street from a nice Amtrak station and it's very close walking distance to the Parlor Market .... one of the best restaurants I've been to in a long time. The Mayflower Cafe ... a better than average meat-and-three ... is even closer. The hotel's valet staff is attentive. All in all, I will gladly return here on my next trip to Jackson.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I unfortunately have to travel to Jackson, Mississippi for business periodically, and this is hands down the place to stay. The hotel is very stately and charming. The staff very friendly. The bar is nicely stocked and has a good selection of eats.

The surrounding restaurants serve fried crap galore, so I wouldn't recommend venturing out particularly at night as the surrounding area is equally disappointing and equally suspect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We booked this hotel online. What a great choice we made!!! Great location...great staff...great room. The rooms were nice and comfy. The climate was just right when we entered the room. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms included a fridge and microwave. The staff was very friendly. We attended a football game at Veteran's Memorial Stadium and a concert at the convention center. Perfect location for both events. I would gladly stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMAC2010, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience. Jackson's Downtown area is beginning to flourish once again and we appreciate your support. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I booked the hotel online after looking at the amenities that were offered. I had never been to Jackson before so I did not know what to expect but from the time I pulled up, I was promptly greeted by a valet attendant that asked, "Are you checking in and would you like assistance with your luggage?" I promptly responded, "No, thank I just need to have the car parked!" Once I entered the door, I was pleasantly surprised at the bright lobby! After I checked in at the front desk I quickly went to my room and again was pleasantly surprised at the attention to interior decor in the room. I later enjoyed the laid back atmosphere of the King Edward Grill & Bar. The service was prompt and the staff was quite courteous. Went I returned to my room I did have to contact housekeeping to obtain another iron and that was promptly brought up to my room. I had a very nice overnight stay and would definitely stay there again!

Great Job!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMAC2010, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are indeed grateful for your appreciation and support and hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown

Address: 235 West Capitol Street, Jackson, MS 39201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Jackson
#3 Business Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown Hotel Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.