We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The zoo is still lots of fun, just not what it used to be!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson Zoo

Jackson Zoo
2918 West Capitol Street, Jackson, MS 39209
601-352-2582
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 42 attractions in Jackson
Type: Zoos
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Enjoy a day of fun for the entire family at this zoo that houses large cats, monkeys and more than 250 other types of animals, plus a carousel, minature train, petting zoo for children, gift shop and concessions.
Brandon, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The zoo is still lots of fun, just not what it used to be!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went to the zoo in November because it's a much cooler time of the year. Our 2 year old loved it! I expected to see all the things I saw and for him to play on the things I played on when I was his age. It's certainly not what it used to be. The play area used to be extravagant and now it's just a small playground. The petting zoo wasn't open and seemed to be missing a lot. The overall experience was a good one. A really good one. The sea lions aren't there anymore and there weren't any alligators, elephants, lions or bears. A lot of the spaces were empty. The food area wasn't clean at all. The tables could have been pressure washed. I am 27 and the last time I went to the zoo, was probably between the age of 13 and 16. Everything else was just as I remembered. The rest of the zoo was very clean. The train and carousel are nice and the kids loved it! It's $2 to ride each, $4 in all. That area of Jackson is bad, but it always has been as long as I can remember.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    30
    22
    10
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Mississippi, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Grandson at the zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Even though the temp was hot, most of the animals were out. Giraffs were special with the young one.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for Toddlers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Jackson Zoo used to be a gem in Jackson. When I was a kid there were lions, and tigers, and bears...(like grizzlies and polar bears.) However as time and zoos have changed this zoo hasn't been able to keep up. Funding seems to be the major problem. If you have kids they'll enjoy this park (because honestly kids have a good time looking at any animals and running through this smaller park) The carousel is lovely. You'll also not have to worry about walking over a HUGE park because this zoo is relatively small and makes for a great day trip for toddlers. There won't be crowds and crowds of people to fight unless there is a special event scheduled. Just know ahead of time that you're not going to see elephants and some other animals you'd expect to see at a zoo.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just Wrong...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you have any respect for animals you don't allow them to live like this. It's time to admit that it isn't working and give these animals a new home...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“sad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have always loved the Zoo and the Jackson Zoo isn't what it use to be. Yes its pretty and has many activities to do with children. However, what is a Zoo with out and Elephant?

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jackson Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jackson Zoo to your Saves list