We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family attraction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mississippi Museum of Natural Science

Mississippi Museum of Natural Science
2148 Riverside Drive, Jackson, MS 39202
601-354-7303
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 42 attractions in Jackson
Type: Natural History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Explore Mississippi's biological diversity at this presitigious museum that includes indoor exhibits: a 100,000-gallon aquarium filled with native fishes, reptiles and amphibians, plus more than two miles of outdoor walking trails that wind through natural habitats.
Jackson, Mississippi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great family attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This museum is an interesting place to visit for all ages. They have indoor exhibits as well as great nature trails.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    21
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
eldragon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a great museum. It is inexpensive & informative. I loved the aquariums, exhibits, and especially the reptiles!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“30th Birthday Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice place. Lots to look at. My husband & I went just for fun & we are glad we went. Worth the trip. Only $5 per person!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a few hours to kill before my delayed flight so I decided to check out the museum. I thought admission was pretty inexpensive but then realized there wasn't that much to see. I was disappointed in the lack of exhibits. Maybe I'm used to bigger museums but felt the two headed snake was the highlight of the museum.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“learn and beat the heat or dodge the rain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

museum is very well done. Many visuals for those who aren't interested in reading, but enough details for those to learn more if desired. Live animals and dioramas. The largest rattlesnake I ever want to see! Great walking path to experience the ecology. We enjoyed our visit and highly recommend visiting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mississippi Museum of Natural Science also viewed

 

Been to Mississippi Museum of Natural Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mississippi Museum of Natural Science, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mississippi Museum of Natural Science to your Saves list