We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a great place for kids to learn about all kinds of science and especially animals native to this area. I've taken my son an” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mississippi Museum of Natural Science

Mississippi Museum of Natural Science
2148 Riverside Drive, Jackson, MS 39202
601-354-7303
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 42 attractions in Jackson
Type: Natural History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Explore Mississippi's biological diversity at this presitigious museum that includes indoor exhibits: a 100,000-gallon aquarium filled with native fishes, reptiles and amphibians, plus more than two miles of outdoor walking trails that wind through natural habitats.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's a great place for kids to learn about all kinds of science and especially animals native to this area. I've taken my son an”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I love this place. We moved about an hour from this place a few years ago. I have taken many kids as well as my son. It's always interesting and fun. They always learn something new.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    21
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
The Delta, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Family Day Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My family (husband, 2 year old and myself) visited this museum for a family-fun day trip in the summer of 2012. We had a great time. We visited the Children's Museum first, then traveled on over to the MS Museum of Natural Science. My 2 year old had more fun at the Museum of Natural Science than the Children's Museum. The staff was pleasant, the exhibits were interesting. My 2 year old loved the live animals and so did I! I think it's a great exhibit, especially for the money! Will definitely visit again!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great time for nature lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Museum has great exhibits real creative showings of nature, stuffed birds and paleontology nice nature trails spent about 3 hours

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Monroe, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little museum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was our first visit to this museum. We went on a Friday and there were activities set up for children, which was really nice for our family. My kids really enjoyed that. There were lots of live animals in the regular exhibits as well as the traveling reptile exhibit, some of which I had never seen before. This is not a huge museum, but it was worth the price of entry. The staff was wonderful! Very friendly and helpful! They have a nice little gift shop where we picked up a few things for our kids before leaving.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Summer activity for kids.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great place to take the children for a fun day anytime. Close to the children's museum also. Exhibits vary so check the website or the current one.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mississippi Museum of Natural Science also viewed

 

Been to Mississippi Museum of Natural Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mississippi Museum of Natural Science, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mississippi Museum of Natural Science to your Saves list