We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't even Get inside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mississippi Museum of Natural Science

Mississippi Museum of Natural Science
2148 Riverside Drive, Jackson, MS 39202
601-354-7303
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 49 things to do in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore Mississippi's biological diversity at this presitigious museum that includes indoor exhibits: a 100,000-gallon aquarium filled with native fishes, reptiles and amphibians, plus more than two miles of outdoor walking trails that wind through natural habitats.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Didn't even Get inside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was meeting people for an important first meeting, but traveling with a dog. We were told by a local that dogs were allowed inside, but that was not the case. Oh well we walked around the small botanical garden admiring plants and enjoying the metal art sculptures. We ended up sitting under the covered picnic area and just enjoyed the cool breezes, lovely landscaping and great conversation. I can't tell you how the Museum inside looked but if you need a low key place to meet and catch up this is perfect.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
La.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Always a great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We love coming to the museum, always interesting. Everyone should make an effort to come here, there is also a children's area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ginnylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“GROUPS WELCOME HERE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Spend several hours and enjoy ALL of the exhibits, aquariums, and walking trails. Great for all ages from young children to seniors.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 12345gran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lived Up to the Hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were only in Jackson for a day, and we heard that this place was thebomb.com so we went. It was seriously awesome. There was a trained guy there who held snakes and was teaching the kids all about snake life in Louisiana. Also, the outdoor park and walking trail area was very beautiful, and is great for any age person. Our group had three teenagers, and they enjoyed themselves very much. You dont need much time to see it all, maybe just an hour, but it's a nice place to visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank duckhuntincherrypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for young nature fans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We've been to the Museum of Natural Science a few times with our children when we are in town to visit family. The two-headed snake is a big hit as is the giant sloth. It's a nice mix of live animals and animal representations, remains, etc. with interactive information. The extensive playground in the park is a bonus - we get our wiggles out before heading inside.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AnonATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mississippi Museum of Natural Science also viewed

 

Been to Mississippi Museum of Natural Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing