We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mississippi Museum of Natural Science

Mississippi Museum of Natural Science
2148 Riverside Drive, Jackson, MS 39202
601-354-7303
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 40 Attractions in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Natural history museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore Mississippi's biological diversity at this presitigious museum that includes indoor exhibits: a 100,000-gallon aquarium filled with native fishes, reptiles and amphibians, plus more than two miles of outdoor walking trails that wind through natural habitats.
La.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Always a great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We love coming to the museum, always interesting. Everyone should make an effort to come here, there is also a children's area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    26
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“GROUPS WELCOME HERE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Spend several hours and enjoy ALL of the exhibits, aquariums, and walking trails. Great for all ages from young children to seniors.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lived Up to the Hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were only in Jackson for a day, and we heard that this place was thebomb.com so we went. It was seriously awesome. There was a trained guy there who held snakes and was teaching the kids all about snake life in Louisiana. Also, the outdoor park and walking trail area was very beautiful, and is great for any age person. Our group had three teenagers, and they enjoyed themselves very much. You dont need much time to see it all, maybe just an hour, but it's a nice place to visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place for young nature fans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We've been to the Museum of Natural Science a few times with our children when we are in town to visit family. The two-headed snake is a big hit as is the giant sloth. It's a nice mix of live animals and animal representations, remains, etc. with interactive information. The extensive playground in the park is a bonus - we get our wiggles out before heading inside.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth $6”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Mississippi Museum of Natural Science is a wonderful example of the lost art of charging exactly what something is worth. Oftentimes there are stories of a poor, unsuspecting customer being way overcharged for a product due to the stereotypical, evil businessman. Everyone either knows somebody, or has themselves experienced a purchase at least once in their life when they were truly swindled. It's an unfortunate reality of life, but it makes one more appreciative when they get exactly what they asked for. The Mississippi Museum of Natural Science does just that when they charge $6 per adult.

Initial thoughts on the fee left my friend and I bewildered with all of the possibilities. "What a deal!" we initially thought. Though perhaps if you were a skeptic, you would’ve found yourself asking, "So, what's the catch?" And in our case as college students low on funds and always looking for a great deal, we wondered, "Why isn't there a student discount of some kind?" We even found ourselves curiously pondering this from the business side of things thinking, "How are they turning a profit?" All of these thoughts are a real part of the experience that the Mississippi Museum of Natural Science brings. Because after sitting on these thoughts for too long, we found that we had no choice but to investigate and see what the answers were to these questions and so many more!

Upon arriving at the excellent location – just off of the interstate – we were enamored with the colorful display announcing that we’d arrived in the right place. The colorful decorations; the winding road giving view of the immediate surroundings allowed the anticipation to build; and last, but not least, the perfect amount of cars and people already there. Even on a seemingly random Friday afternoon in March, there was a wonderful amount of people there so that we didn’t find ourselves awkwardly walking around the premises all by our lonesome.

We bought our tickets, and parked. Upon entering the building, we were greeted by 3 taxidermic deer. To our right was the underwhelming gift shop, and that's when it began to sink in. It occurred to us that the Mississippi Museum of Natural Science's pricing was determined by neither Papa Bear, nor Mama Bear; but rather it was Baby Bear who established the $6 entry per adult. We walked down the stairs and directly above us hung from the ceiling was the skeleton of a massive creature that used to live in the ocean, and hopefully no longer does. It was spectacular, and awe-inspiring on its own. However, the greatest thing about it in retrospect was the contrast it provided to its surroundings. For after we marveled for a few seconds at the glorious creature, we're greeted by an average display showing off various descriptions of days long gone and the like. They're not bad, and they're not good; they are what they are.

Continuing on would only lead to many encounters of the same nature. In one section, there were multiple powerful binoculars place in front of a window allowing us to gaze upon the birds that were going about their days. Nearby were the constantly looping monitors displaying various videos, including one of a man chopping down a tree in the middle of a forest. After that is a miniature-zoo like setting showing off their various alligators and turtles. This followed the same theme as the rest of the establishment with a menacing snapping turtle in one exhibit, and a stuffed alligator sitting in the open space in front of it.

Overall, the experience was one that I shall never forget and would recommend to a friend in a heartbeat. While I don't think there's too much to be gained from this experience in the way of finding interesting facts or such about natural science; I can't think of a better example of the phrase "it is what it is." There might not be a more ambiguous phrase in the English language, but having visited this place, I can accurately say that I have actually encountered the idiom and its true meaning. The Mississippi Museum of Natural Science is what it is, and it is $6 per adult.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mississippi Museum of Natural Science also viewed

 

Been to Mississippi Museum of Natural Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mississippi Museum of Natural Science, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.