We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a great place to visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mississippi Museum of Natural Science

Mississippi Museum of Natural Science
2148 Riverside Drive, Jackson, MS 39202
601-354-7303
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 40 Attractions in Jackson
Type: Natural History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore Mississippi's biological diversity at this presitigious museum that includes indoor exhibits: a 100,000-gallon aquarium filled with native fishes, reptiles and amphibians, plus more than two miles of outdoor walking trails that wind through natural habitats.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This was a great place to visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We arrived to a beautiful, new, clean facility. It was more than I expected, with REAL Live turtles, fish, snakes and frogs. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there. It was also next to a brand new children's museum which looked great too. There was an interesting film on frogs too. Additionally, they had an outdoor area (in the back of the facility) where you could hike on trails. It was really lots of fun!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    25
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Rescue, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A must see in Jackson!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Very interresting place for children and adults. There is a beautiful park around the museum for picnicking with flora of the area marked for identification. The museum has a special presentation every few months along with live fish and reptiles of the area, stuffed animals in a natural habitat and a history of each animal. The special this month was frogs. Many species were displayed. The kids loved it and I enjoyed it too!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“It was nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The kids enjoyed it and so did we :) The only complaint I have is the address they give isn't really it's true address and thus the GPS wasn't able to get us their.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awsome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011 via mobile

I have taken my children several times. The theam changes every couple of months so its never the same. I would highly recomend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, MS
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Depending on what exhibit they have going at the time, this attraction will most probably interest every one in your family. Very kid friendly. We went to see the Megalodon Exhibit but be forewarned...they do not have an entire Megalodon skeleton. It's still worth a visit. Many, many fossils found in Mississippi that I was unaware we even had in North America at all. Very educational. They have fish, turtle and alligator tanks along with a terrarium. This is not the science museum of 20 years ago.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mississippi Museum of Natural Science also viewed

 

Been to Mississippi Museum of Natural Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mississippi Museum of Natural Science, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.