We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Capitol Museum

Old Capitol Museum
100 South State St., Jackson, MS 39205
601-359-6920
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 49 things to do in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Old Capitol building served the state from 1832-1903 and was later converted into a State Historical Museum. Visitors can tour the grand dam of Mississippi politics, plus view dioramas and exhibits that trace the city's history. The museum also includes a large collection of Jefferson Davis memorabilia.
Southaven, Mississippi
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very nice museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent museum, though you have to like museums to appreciate the exhibits. Lots of reading and looking at things.

The receptionist was exceptionally friendly and offered to take our picture on the beautiful spiral staircase and told us a bit about the history of the museum and the downtown area.

We spent about an hour here, viewing a video downstairs and looking at some of the displays we found interesting. It would have been easy to spend a couple more hours if you wanted to look at everything.

This place may not be for everyone, but it's a very nice facility.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JRZelazny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
La.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It is beautiful in the Old Capital, the rotunda is magnificent. I miss some of the things they had before Katrina, but they said they were going to be in another museum later. Free to get in, it is definitely a must see when in Jackson.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ginnylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Equal to anything you will find in our DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This museum was so impressive. We went on Sunday afternoon and were so pleased with the wonderful experience. It has been wonderfully done and is a don't miss in the Jackson area!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mere17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful & historic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

A must see in Jackson, especially for history buffs. Beautiful architecture and nice displays, plus it's FREE to visit! Great for families too. Some exhibits are interactive also.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank christine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevallo, Alabama
Level Contributor
125 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Historic Old Capitol Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Admission to the old capitol is free. The lady working the desk as i entered was very friendly, and offered me tons of information on the old capitol and also on some other sites around the city of Jackson. The building is beautiful and has been very nicely restored. The highlights include the rotunda dome, the house chamber and gallery area, the senate chamber and gallery area, and the supreme court chamber and library. The Jackson War Memorial is right next door, and a nice confederate memorial is just outside too. Behind the capitol building is an old train station, and you can read about the merci train that is on display. Take time to visit if you are in Jackson.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank autigerrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Capitol Museum also viewed

 

Been to Old Capitol Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing