We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Capitol Museum

Old Capitol Museum
100 South State St., Jackson, MS 39205
601-359-6920
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 42 Attractions in Jackson
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Old Capitol building served the state from 1832-1903 and was later converted into a State Historical Museum. Visitors can tour the grand dam of Mississippi politics, plus view dioramas and exhibits that trace the city's history. The museum also includes a large collection of Jefferson Davis memorabilia.
Southaven, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very nice museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent museum, though you have to like museums to appreciate the exhibits. Lots of reading and looking at things.

The receptionist was exceptionally friendly and offered to take our picture on the beautiful spiral staircase and told us a bit about the history of the museum and the downtown area.

We spent about an hour here, viewing a video downstairs and looking at some of the displays we found interesting. It would have been easy to spend a couple more hours if you wanted to look at everything.

This place may not be for everyone, but it's a very nice facility.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    27
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
La.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It is beautiful in the Old Capital, the rotunda is magnificent. I miss some of the things they had before Katrina, but they said they were going to be in another museum later. Free to get in, it is definitely a must see when in Jackson.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Equal to anything you will find in our DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This museum was so impressive. We went on Sunday afternoon and were so pleased with the wonderful experience. It has been wonderfully done and is a don't miss in the Jackson area!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful & historic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

A must see in Jackson, especially for history buffs. Beautiful architecture and nice displays, plus it's FREE to visit! Great for families too. Some exhibits are interactive also.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevallo, Alabama
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
109 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Historic Old Capitol Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Admission to the old capitol is free. The lady working the desk as i entered was very friendly, and offered me tons of information on the old capitol and also on some other sites around the city of Jackson. The building is beautiful and has been very nicely restored. The highlights include the rotunda dome, the house chamber and gallery area, the senate chamber and gallery area, and the supreme court chamber and library. The Jackson War Memorial is right next door, and a nice confederate memorial is just outside too. Behind the capitol building is an old train station, and you can read about the merci train that is on display. Take time to visit if you are in Jackson.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Capitol Museum also viewed

 

Been to Old Capitol Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Capitol Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.