We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mississippi Agricultural & Forestry Museum

Mississippi Agricultural & Forestry Museum
1150 Lakeland Drive, Jackson, MS 39216
601-432-4500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 52 things to do in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Waco, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We enjoyed our time at this museum. Talked to the lady at the front desk and she gave us great insight into the displays we would find in the museum.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    16
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It is very interesting inside the musuem and the outside buildings take you back to an earlier time. The old cabins were really fun to tour, we really loved stepping back in time. Admission was very reasonable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very cool, historical, & fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was a great place to spend the day for our whole family. There is a full indoor museum with exhibits about Mississippi's agricultural history, including full interactive train displays. Outdoors is a town including general store, old schoolhouse, church, cotton gin, service station, doctor's office, and an old home with outbuildings. You can go inside all of the displays and the general store sells snacks & novelties. There are also animals there that you can see up close, great for the kids. Lots of fun and helps spark dialogue about how life was "back in the day". We all enjoyed it and all of the employees and staff were very friendly. Would definitely recommend.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MS
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Like things used to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The AG museum is a great place to get an idea of what life was like in rural MS during the early part of the last century. I've been more than once and enjoyed watching grandparents with their grandchildren, explaining to them how things used to be. I took my mother there and it was touching to see her relive moments in her youth.
Very well done, well maintained. It's a few hours very well spent.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, Mississippi, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Interesting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the museum. Very friendly staff. Enjoyed walking the grounds visiting each building with corresponding exihibit. For example, I especially enjoyed the small service station with memorabillia- a slice of Southern Americana. A great place for kids, too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mississippi Agricultural & Forestry Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mississippi Agricultural & Forestry Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mississippi Agricultural & Forestry Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.