We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This stay was a very nice surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Memphis South

Save Saved
You added Drury Inn & Suites Memphis South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Memphis South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   735 Goodman Road West, Horn Lake, MS 38637   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Horn Lake
NOLA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“This stay was a very nice surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We chose this hotel because they are pet friendly and very close to I-55. We needed a one night stay for an extended driving trip and boy did this hotel fill the bill. We were in the two room oversized suite. It was very clean, quiet, roomy and with breakfast and the evening food you could not beat the price! The staff was very pleasant from check-in to check-out and were even very helpful in making suggestions for our four-legged family member. We were very happy with the 5:30 kickback and did not have to spend money on dinner after enjoying soup, salad and chicken strips. My son enjoyed the mac 'n cheese and hotdogs; and had a blast with the self-serve popcorn and soft drinks. They even had a very nice "happy hour" for mom and dad! It appeared there were many guests who stay on a regular bases because I noticed the staff adressing them by name, asking about family and inquiring about a return stay. We were there for the NFL opener so many folks chose the lobby to watch the game and the staff seemed to encourag everyone to enjoy themselves. We were very pleased with our stay and have already recommended this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    56
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
65
46
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed here for two nights while visiting Memphis. The staff was very friendly, the hotel nice and clean. Good breakfast. Free drinks and popcorn 24/7, free food in the evening and a very nice pool. We loved it. The location is not very interesting though. It's quite far away from Memphis, south from Graceland. It took us about half an hour to get to town center by car.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bates City, Missouri
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stay here every January on our way to Gulf Shores, Al. A beautiful hotel at a great price. Rooms are big and the beds are comfy. The breakfast is always good.
Will stay again this coming January

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The first time we stayed here was in August of 2010. The hotel was clean, quiet, and close to many places to eat. We enjoyed our stay so much, we decided to book here again.

When we arrived at the hotel, we had to wait for over 30 minutes for our room to be cleaned because there was several baseball teams staying there. The lobby was hot and a huge mess because of the unruly children. It is not something you want to experience when you have been driving on the road all day. The lobby was hot and no place to sit while waiting for room to be cleaned.

After finally getting to room, we wanted to put our child into pool. The pool had been closed because of those unruly children and they broke the handle on the door of the pool as well.

When we returned that evening around 9:30 P.M., the children next door were yelling and screaming. I went down to the front desk and complained about the noise(the walls are paper thin), she called and they got quiet. The parents were not even in the room with the kids who were playing video games. Around 10 P.M. that evening the mother returned talking very loudly, so that we couldn't even hear TV and was telling the kids to be quiet and leave her room.

The next morning, the noise was just as bad. Door slammed I don't know how many times, the parents were yelling at kids, kids were yelling at each other. I couldn't wait to get out of there. Thank goodness they all checked out that day.

That night, however, was a different story. Little kids talking and laughing loudly checked into the room across from ours(where the baseball kids were previously). They were yelling and screaming for 2 1/2 hours or more. From about 9:30 to after midnight; in the morning more slamming of the door again.

The room was clean and very nice, however, I may rethink my plans to stay there next year. I think some policies for large groups need to be implemented and parents need to be responsible for their own children.

The staff was wonderful and very apologetic to us.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed here mainly to go to Graceland and Sun Studios.Graceland is only five miles down the highway.

Until this trip, we had never stayed at a 3 star hotel before.The staff here were very friendly and helpful.

Everyone enjoyed the kickback from 5:30pm-7:00pm.Chicken tenders were on the menu, that night with the everyday baked potatoes, hot dogs, and salad.It was funny seeing a family across from us eating Mcdonald's.I don't know why they wanted to eat that there, when there was plenty of food at the hotel to eat.The breakfast was also very good.They also give you three alcoholic beverages for free.The two meals at the hotel probably saved us at least $80.

The pool is indoor/outdoor, is kind of small, and is divided by a tarp in the middle to allow for swimming in the colder months.You can only do about three strokes sideways before reaching the wall.It's only deep in the middle.I swam for a couple of hours, though it was slightly crowded at times.They also have a hot tub.But the button to make it bubbly was not working.

The room was spacious and had plenty of room to move about with all the typical amenities.The bathroom was also various nicely decorated.

I would definitely stay here again if I am ever in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We have stayed at many Drury Inns in several different states. Drury always does a good job of making sure that their customers are taken care of. However, the staff at this hotel went above and beyond. They were extremely personable, helpful and paid attention to the details. There were several "glitches" beyond their control we observed (like the waffle batter machine that broke kept dispensing liquid...all over the floor etc) and they were quick to respond and take care of things without causing a major scene. They didn't seem annoyed when having to deal with these fluke things and acted like they liked being there (not that it was their simply their job to be there).

Some of the Drurys are getting a bit older. This one is an older building but they have done an excellent job at keeping it up (remodeling around different parts is evident) and it is very clean (I'm picky so this is a #1 for me). It's a 15 minute drive to downtown Memphis, great place to stay to get away from the hustle but still be close. There were many dogs there when we visited and they treated them like royalty too :) Noise was not an issue for us, stayed very quiet despite it being a busy weekend. Would stay at this location again without reservation and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Our experience at the Drury Inn Memphis South was fantastic. The hotel itself is nice enough, especially for the rate and the extras Drury throws in. The rooms were clean and well kept. The hotel was also packed with softball and baseball teams and we didn't hear a thing at night (and we have two light sleeping little ones). We also had a room next to the highway and didn't hear much of the traffic that others have talked about. All that aside, the guest service here was above and beyond any expectations. The Drury staff went well out of their way to accommodate our needs after a glitch occurred in our online reservation and did everything to ensure our complete satisfaction with the stay. Overall, the property itself is a typical suburban Drury (which is always family friendly and great value), but the staff here just made our stay great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Memphis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Memphis South

Address: 735 Goodman Road West, Horn Lake, MS 38637
Location: United States > Mississippi > Horn Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Horn Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Memphis South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. Whether you are looking to test out your luck at the Tunica Casinos or head into Memphis to tour Graceland, the Drury Inn & Suites is located in the suburban community of Horn Lake and only 15 miles from Memphis area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Memphis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Memphis South Hotel Horn Lake
Drury Inn And Suites Memphis South
Drury Inn Horn Lake
Drury Inn Memphis South
Drury Horn Lake
Horn Lake Drury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites Memphis South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.