We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Picture-Perfect B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Grove Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hernando
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia Grove Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Magnolia Grove Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
140 East Commerce, Hernando, MS 38632   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hernando B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Picture-Perfect B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My fiance and I stayed in this B&B in April of 2013 and it was a B&B out of a movie! Gorgeous house, INCREDIBLY hospitable owners- I had long chats with Tom about the house and the careful and caring restoration they did of the property, and Ellen makes a breakfast that you won't soon forget, served with elegance in the formal diningroom! Despite the grandeur of the surroundings, you will feel right at home. Do not hesitate! Book now!!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are unique and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
41
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at Magnolia Grove this past weekend and it was fantastic! For those looking to stay in a historic home in the Hernando area, this one is a great pick. Miss Ellen's breakfast was like nothing else I've ever experienced! It was delicious! Mr Tom had so many stories about the home's history and they had many artifacts from the early 1900's. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Jenny's room was my favorite, it has a claw foot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I recently spent 3 days here, and we just loved every minute of it. The breakfasts were amazing, and there were delicious home-cooked desserts every evening to come home to. As a vegetarian, I also really appreciated that special breakfast options were prepared for me without any problems, and that they were just as delicious as what everyone else got to enjoy! We stayed in Jason's room, and the attached hallway bath was perfect and private: the lovely clawfoot tub had great water pressure, and the towels were super soft. There was also a fridge stocked with bottled water, which was such a nice amenity! We got great travel advice and driving directions from Tom, and will look forward to staying here again if we can make our way back to Memphis!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eudora, Mississippi, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We pass by the Magnolia Grove B&B quite often as we are indeed local. We thought it would be a nice change to stay there for a night to relax and get away. The house is nicely preserved and has a lot of interesting details. Tom, is a very animated person and has great stories about the good ole' days in Memphis. Ellen his wife cooked an amazing breakfast, I'd go back just for the breakfast! Bottom line, don't miss this quaint little bed and breakfast in the wonderful little town of Hernando, It's only a very short trip from Memphis!

Room Tip: We like Jenny's Room, it has the original wall paper from the 1890's and a private bath, co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, Usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Nice and Clean home. Owners were very accommodating and breakfast was excellent! Booking another night just a month after my first stay. Would definitely recommend to friends and family who are traveling through Hernando!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Very nice old mansion, hospitable hosts and a fantastic 4-course breakfast that is as good or better than any we have experienced in our 12 years of staying at B&Bs all over the country. Tom has a very interesting story to tell, which I won't divulge, except to say he hales from nearby Memphis. Hernando is a neat and friendly little town with decent places to eat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Magnolia Grove B&B was a wonderful delight. The hospitality of the owners, Tom and Ellen, plus delicious desserts and breakfasts was excellent. I especially enjoyed the evening desserts - all refreshing and scrumptious. The morning breakfast hour was a combination of conversation plus a fantastic breakfast. I enjoyed listening to Tom and his stories. Our hostess, Ellen, was so gracious - letting us roam the property to admire their many flowers, etc. This was my first time at a B&B and I definitely plan to return to this charming residence. The town of Hernando is also charming with quaint antique shops plus good restaurants. Great experience!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Grove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Grove Bed and Breakfast

Address: 140 East Commerce, Hernando, MS 38632
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hernando
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hernando
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Grove Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.