We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff! Great Hospitality! And Comfortable Rooms!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Hattiesburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Hattiesburg to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Hattiesburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   173 Thornhill Dr, Hattiesburg, MS 39402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Staff! Great Hospitality! And Comfortable Rooms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I've stayed at this property TWICE in the past two weeks. The staff--on every shift--could not have been more welcoming and accommodating!

I was surprised, but even the housekeeping staff was exceptionally accommodating--even to the point of as I was leaving my room, walking down the hall with my luggage to check-out--of the housekeepers said, "Come back to see us...and be careful on your return home!"

Then, as I was walking down the corridor on the first floor, heading to my car, another housekeeper waved and gave me a big smile, "When are you coming back to see us?"

I don't know, but that's just not my typical hotel stay. To me, it shouted EXCELLENT management and teamwork, with every person on staff understanding that the business thrives on how customers "feel" about their experience. FIVE STARS ***** for an exceptional management and staff!

The rooms were standard Marriot Fare with comfortable beds, mini-fridges, (and microwaves in one of the rooms I stayed in).

The location is close to USM, shopping, restaurants, churches and schools. It's excellent for the business traveler...and also families who are passing through on their way to New Orleans (less than two-hours away)...or those headed for Mississippi's Gulf Coast.

The indoor pool seemed quite active with families--and looked like fun, if I hadn't been so busy.

All in all, this is a very good, very clean, very safe and convenient hotel, run by a caring manager and staff who know the TRUE MEANING of Southern Hospitality!

Room Tip: I enjoyed my stays on the second and third floors. Quiet and lots of room to spread-out and work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
"Five Stars" is a fabulous compliment to our staff and hotel here at the Fairfield! We are constantly striving to exceed expectations and are thrilled that we met yours! The staff care about each and every guest who walks through our doors. Our goal is to provide the most enjoyable visit possible. Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor and we hope you will choose to stay with us if in the Hattiesburg, MS area again!

Beth B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    37
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
35
21
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vicksburg, MS
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed the night here while in town for a soccer tournament. The hotel met our needs. It was clean and had a fridge available in the room, which was nice to keep drinks in.

Hotel is centrally located and easy to access. Near a lot of good restaurants.

My only issue with the stay (which wasn't the hotels issue) is that while at the pool we ran across some very rude guests.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing to visit the Fairfield and for your response on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to know that we met your needs and you enjoyed the amenities provided in our guest rooms. Your feedback means a lot to us. Please stay with us again if in this area in the future!

Beth B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We chose to stay in this hotel rather than the hotel with the other wedding guests because of Marriott Rewards. My daughter was the "Guest of the Day" and was given a nice welcome bag. The staff, both day and night shift (when we came in after the wedding) were very nice and should be commended. On the down side, my son and daughter both reserved a suite but my daughter was the only one who got one. They did not have a suite for my son. The "suite" was much smaller than the one my brother had at the Hilton Garden Inn for the same price. In addition, when we went to make the sofa bed there were no sheets and I had to go to the front desk to get them. Also, on our floor when we got to our room there were 2 sacks of garbage at the end of the hall. When we came at 11 pm the garbage was still there and still there when we went to breakfast at 7:15 am the next morning. I also thought that Fairfield's were offering scrambled eggs and sausage---more of a hot breakfast but what we had was microwave fare; the bananas were overripe and there were no apples. The lady in the breakfast area did keep everything clean and stocked. This was just not what I expected at a Marriott hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is buffered with trees so all rooms, with the exception of those close to the elevator or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your response for your visit to the Fairfield in Hattiesburg. We are sorry for your experiences with houskeeping and the breakfast issues you mentioned. I assure you that we have brought them to the attention of our staff and are working to correct these problems. We strive to ensure that each guest has a care free experience, but occasionally there are expections. We were experiencing a change in our breakfast choices and had some equipment malfunction. We are happy to report we have corrected the problem. We hope your family will stay with us if you are in the Hattiesburg area again.

Beth B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We just left the location and just wanted say thank you to the staff! We arrived about midnight after an 10 hour drive and the front desk clerk was bright and cheery. When we awoke the next morning every staff member greeted us and asked how our stay was. The ladies running the breakfast bar were on top of it, refilling items as necessary and even making waffles for those that wanted one. The place is showing its wear but the staff totally makes up for it. We'll definitely consider this spot for our next beach trip. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for such a super review of the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Hattiesburg, MS! Our staff takes great pride in every aspect from greeting our guests at checkin to making sure that they have the best room and amenities possible. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast selections and overall stay and pleased to hear that you plan to stay again. Thanks for using Trip Advisor to let us know that we met your expectations!

B. Ballard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbin, Kentucky, United States
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrive late but were welcomed the moment we arrived. The desk clerk was so kind and after a long day of walking around New Orleans we appreciated it. The lobby is clean and coffee available even that late. The room was small but clean. We slept wonderful and the next morning we were refreshed and ready to continue. The breakfast bar was replenished often the lady working was friendly and doing a great job. Overall great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Hattiesburg, MS! Thank you for mentioning all the amenities that you had while staying because it lets us know that we are meeting your needs. Thanks for using Trip Advisor and please stay with us on any future visits to this area!

Beth B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petal, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel has clean, comfortable rooms, a nice lobby area, friendly staff, a decent fitness room -- all at a pretty good value. The location is a little tricky -- it is located right off Hardy St. near I-59, but the driveway is a little difficult to get to with a lot of traffic -- not a big deal, just a little bit of a surprise. Overall, this hotel will not overwhelm you, but it is a good place to stay -- recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor for the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Hattiesburg, MS. We strive to meet customer expectations in every area of hospitality. It is our goal to make you feel at home, from our comfortable rooms to a tasty breakfast before departing! Thank you for your recommendation and we hope you will stay with us again when in this area in the future.

Beth Ballard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Fairfield Inn in Hattiesburg is a good hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the room was nice and clean. However it is very difficult to fine the hotel. It's on a back street and not well marked as how to get there. Other than that, the stay was fine. I stayed there because of Rick R's review about how good the staff is. I didn't regret my decision.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for informing us of your difficulties with finding our location upon arrival at the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Hattiesburg, MS. We apologize for your inconvience and will try to correct the problem. We are happy that you chose us and pleased that you enjoyed our nice, clean rooms. Our staff is here to serve our guests and help in any way we can! Feedback is an important part of improving our overall guest service and we thank you for your review. When in the Hattiesburg area again, we hope you will choose to stay with us!

Beth Ballard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Hattiesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Hattiesburg

Address: 173 Thornhill Dr, Hattiesburg, MS 39402
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Hattiesburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Hattiesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Hattiesburg
Hattiesburg Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Hattiesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.