We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hattiesburg, MS, Hampton Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Hattiesburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Hattiesburg to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Hattiesburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4301 Hardy Street, Hattiesburg, MS 39401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HHonors Double Points!
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Guntersville, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hattiesburg, MS, Hampton Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My husband and I stopped at the Hampton Inn in Hattiesburg on our way to New Orleans. Our room was very clean and just as we requested. I am mobility challenged and need a handicap room and this room was perfect. And while others have complained about noise, we heard none.
The front desk staff were friendly and helpful and seemed genuinely upset that we were only staying overnight. Actually from the information in our room, Hattiesburg has some interesting sites so next time we will actually stay more than a night. The hotel itself while older was clean and well kept and was surrounded by restaurants so we didn't have to venture far to get a good dinner. Also breakfast was great. I especially liked the fresh fruit salad, no syrup just cut up fresh fruit.
We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesboy3, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
THANK YOU KINDLY!
I am glad to hear that you had a great stay here at the property. We try to make sure that each and every guest has an excellent stay. Hattiesburg has a lot of history and interesting places to visit. I hope that you come back to the area in the future to stay with us again and also experience some of the sights and sounds that the HUB city has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    80
    76
    32
    27
See reviews for
87
51
20
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

This was my second business stay at the Hampton in Hattiesburg. The room was nice and clean, the A/C worked very well, and the water pressure was decent. The staff was helpful and friendly. I'l stay there again.

HKM

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesboy3, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Hollie1959 Thank you so much for staying with us again. I truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us while taking care of business in the city. We work hard to make sure that our facilities and service are up to par. Please stay with out family again the next time that you are in the city. We truly love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, AL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I really like Hampton Inns for their consistent good quality and friendly staffs, but this was not a great experience. This property is the 4th oldest Hampton Inn built in the mid 80's and the age shows. The front lobby carpet has buckles by the front door and it very worn out. I booked a King room no smoking overlooking the pool and courtyard area. When we checked in I was told no kings were available except for the rooms facing Interstate 59 about 100 yards away. This Hampton unlike newer ones has outside entrance to the rooms. This room was very very noisy all night and the front door had a gap at the bottom of the door of almost an inch which accounted for letting the noise in the room. The free breakfast was a joke with cold rubbery scrambled eggs and gravy and biscuits. They offered no meat like ham, bacon or sausage like Hampton's are known to have. Hampton needs to review this property and take it out of their inventory as IMO it does not meet Hilton or Hampton standards. My next trip to Hattiesburg I will stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay at another Hotel that is newer and not right on the Freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesboy3, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Terrybhm,

Thank you for staying with us and also staying loyal to the Hilton brand. I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about the not so pleasant stay that you had while here. The feedback that you expressed lets us know what we need to work on. We are an older Hampton Inn but strive to provide the best service that we can. It seems that your time spent here was not that. If you do decide to stay with us again, please contact me directly at the hotel so that I can assure that you recive the room request that you would like. We like to give our guests what they want each time that they are here. Frank James - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

April 21st. Stayed one night. Front desk people were absolutely wonderful. Tom in the evening was very friendly and helpful. Dan was front desk at 3 am and was extremely outgoing and pleasant. He made some fresh coffee and put out some bagels and muffins for us. He was great!!
Unfortunately, the hotel was not up to Hampton standards. The old style "motel" rooms were noisy and dated. The beds were horrible. Internet was adequate. The comforter was really lumpy and kept sliding off the bed. The bathroom was clean but the shower curtain was too short and kept coming out of the tub. Did I mention the room was VERY noisy?? We left at 3am to get out of the place. We would not stay there again!!

Room Tip: Don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesboy3, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
FrankKiv,

We are so glad that you stopped by to spend the night while in the city of Hattiebsurg. We are an older Hampton Hotel but work hard to keep up with the Jones'. I noticed that your room was an exterior room and at times they can be a bit noisy to road traffic and outside noise. We sincerely apologize and ask that they next time you stay with us to let us know that you would prefer something quiet. We will make it happen! Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Everything about my stay was great. My room had a whirlpool that I enjoyed very much. A microwave and refrigerator were also included. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean.

The staff was courteous and polite. I requested my comforter be exchanged because the down comforter on the bed was lumpy from being washed too many times. I had a brand new comforter within fifteen minutes of my request.

The hot breakfast was standard breakfast fare.

The location is good. There are many restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesboy3, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. The staff works hard to make sure that we give each guest what they want when they want it. It seems that our layout and service were to your liking and that is what our goal is here. If you are ever in the city again, please stop by and stay a night with us so that we can demonstrate to you the same great service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I am a Military service member and stayed here to support the return of soldiers from Afghanastan. We decided to lay out at the pool and as my boss walked up and sat on a chair he gashed his foot open on a piece of broken glass sticking out of the patio. When he decided to get medical treatment we were given the run around by the staff and they never even checked on him to see if he was ok. After writing several emails regarding this to management he never got a response and we checked out early and then the manager told him oh yeah sorry about that.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesboy3, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank youfor staying with us. The staff expresses sincere sympathy to you in regaurds to your injury. We hope that you have a speedy recovery and that all is well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at this location in route to New Orleans for a cruise. It is clear this property is fairly old. The rooms are musty smelling and just seem dated. For the money, I would definitely choose a different location. The area is very convenient to eating establishments, many are within walking distance. The staff is very friendly. The breakfast was also standard Hampton fare, waffles, fruit, yogurt, cereal, etc. Overall, the positives are not outweighed by the condition of the hotel and I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesboy3, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for your posotive comments and I also appreciate tehe negative ones too. We are an older hotel that was one of the first few that were put into the Hilton system but we work to keep up with the new ones. If you do come through the city again, give us another chance to make it right for you. - Frank James - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Hattiesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Hattiesburg

Address: 4301 Hardy Street, Hattiesburg, MS 39401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Hattiesburg 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Hampton Inn Hattiesburg, we're passionate about taking good care of you. That's why we offer a broad range of services and amenities at our hotel to make your stay exceptional. Whether you're planning a corporate meeting or need accommodations for a family reunion or your child's sporting group, we're delighted to offer you easy planning and booking tools to make the process quick and organized.We offer newly renovated hotel rooms, complete with refrigerators and microwaves in each room. We are located within 1 mile of the Turtle Creek shopping mall, restaurants, Movie Theater, USM campus, and within 20 minutes of Camp Shelby. We provide a free hot breakfast every morning, and Manager's receptions 3 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Hattiesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hattiesburg Hotel Hattiesburg
Hattiesburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Hattiesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.