We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right price for what you get.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Hattiesburg

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Hattiesburg to your Saves list
Super 8 Hattiesburg
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Hattiesburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6529 US Highway 49 North, Hattiesburg, MS 39401   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 32 hotels in Hattiesburg
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    23
    5
    11
See reviews for
23
15
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Do not trust this motel with your credit card information.

I was errantly charged for a night's stay, even though I cancelled the reservation 3 weeks before the scheduled date. After dialogue, I e-mailed a copy of the cancellation notice to the manager, Mr. J. P. He refused to cancel the credit card charge. At first, he said that I could only make reservations online, I couldn't cancel them. This is ridiculous. I have Gold Status with Wyndham hotels because I travel so frequently. I often need to rearrange travel dates. This is the only motel I have seen that does not want to honor confirmed cancellations. Finally, the manger said that Super 8 reservation service didn't tell him of the cancellation, so it was their problem, not his. They would need to refund me if I would get any money back. What! I couldn't believe his words!

My reservation was a contract. His only right to charge my card was according to the terms of the contract. It gave cancellation instructions. I followed them and had written confirmation and he had a copy of the confirmation. As of that point, he had no legal standing not to reverse the charges. He put the charges on my card, he was obligated to remove them was he had written proof that they were made in error. Yet, he refused to do this.

I finally complained to the credit card company and it only took a few hours for them to decide to reverse the charges. It was that obvious that VISA did not approve of the way the manager was handling the situation.

I would not trust this motel with my credit card information. The manager waited for more than two weeks to get back to me after my first complaint and then only after I formally complained to Super 8 corporate. . Actually, he should have called my cell phone the same day he first found out about the problem, not over two weeks alter. Then, once he finally did call me and he had proof of a confirmed cancellation, he still refused to honor the terms of the initial reservation agreement. He had no grounds not to reverse the charges.

It was unfortunate that I had to go to VISA to get this problem resolved. There is no excuse for such blatant behavior by a manager of a motel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gstopinion, Owner at Super 8 Hattiesburg, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
On March,13 guest open the case to customer care services at Super 8 head office. After thorough research, Central Reservation System (CRS) found that reservation was canceled by CRS and they send email message to guest but some how it was not canceled in Soft Hotel PMS because of some unknown issue. So CRS send him an email on 03/23/13 saying it was not property's fault , it was system's fault.They will send him a reimbursement check & For this property will not charge. On 03/25/2013 guest replied to Customer Care for thank you for positive response. Also he said that he is going to dispute his charge to his Visa company. So Customer Care send him an email saying they will not sending him a check as he dispute his charge to Visa Company. So he wants to take double advantage from Customer Care & from Card company. Still case is not resolve with C/C company.I send all emailed conversations to them. It is obvious that Motel was not at fault and what is the guest's intention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

When I first got here the check-in person didn't seem very enthusiastic and it took a bit to checked in even though I had a reservation. When I finally got my room keys it wouldn't even open the door even though the green light was on (Apparently for some doors you need to turn the door handle up). Now I'm in the room and the air conditioning unit is extremely loud. Not very pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Ontario
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have stayed here before and it wasn't too bad but seems to have not aged well. Would stay elsewhere on our next trip. Hattiesburg was also hit by a tornado recently and I am not sure what is left standing

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gstopinion, Owner at Super 8 Hattiesburg, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your comments. I appreciate. Did you notice the whole changes between your current stay and stayed before? New paint inside and outside, new furniture etc. And still it consider as a out dated or aged, I cannot do any more. One more improvement I am going to do is to change bed sprayed, Draperies, and wall paint.

Thanks,
Jay Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Hattiesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hattiesburg

Address: 6529 US Highway 49 North, Hattiesburg, MS 39401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 hotels in Hattiesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hattiesburg 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Newly Renovated Super8 Hattiesburg is located just south of I-59/Exit 67A On Hwy 49. All rooms has 32" LCD Tv Microwave Refrigerator Coffee Maker Hair Dryer Iron/Board. Free High Speed Internet in all rooms. Free Super Start Breakfast. Convention Center & University of Southern Mississippi very close.Restaurants nearby. Hattiesburg Zoo 2 Miles. Camp Selby 8 miles on hwy 49 south.Turtle Creek Mall 3 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Hattiesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hattiesburg Super Eight
Hattiesburg Super 8
Super Eight Hattiesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Hattiesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.