We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Worth It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent City Grill

Crescent City Grill
3810 Hardy St, Hattiesburg, MS 39402-1539
601-264-0657
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 211 Restaurants in Hattiesburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely Worth It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The food here is awesome! I fell in love with this place, the atmosphere, the staff it was just an overall wonderful experience. I got the spinach salad with fried oysters, I had a taste for a healthier choice option and it was perfect the house made vinaigrette was tasty and the gumbo was also classically made. I would definitely revisit if ever in Hattiesburg again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    72
    16
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“New Orleans Stlye”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

What is not to like at Crecent City Grill. The food is tasty and the atmosphere emulates New Orleans. I had a Ruben at lunch recently and it was a delight. Their Cobb salad is always satisfying and the deserts are scrumptious. If you get the fried green tomatoes, ask for the crawfish topping on the side to keeping them from getting soggy. The recently expanded kitchen should make this place even better.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good New Orleans cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Crescent City Grill doesn't look like much on the outside, but the inside is nice, and the food and service were very good. I was with a party of ten and we were seated quickly and the waiter did a good job of taking and delivering orders quickly and correctly. Most everyone got something different and I only heard one complaint and it was about potion size, not taste (Royal Reds special). I had the Shrimp Etouffee. I got a large portion and it was very tasty, a little more spicy than I expected, but very good. I got a side salad with house dressing for a side and it was very good too. As I looked around the table at what the others in my party ordered, I thought that if I lived in Hattiesburg I would likely come here frequently. Our host, a local, said that he and his wife dine there regularly and always enjoy it. I would definitely go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cushing, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service, atmosphere and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great service, atmosphere and food. Was difficult to discern where the restaurant actually was due to outside renovation of other restaurants attached.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Moderately disappointing, but not terrible.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We ordered catch of the day, and were disappointed. For $20 each, the portions were unexpectedly small. I had mine "Pontchartrain" style. The menu said "market price," same as regular catch of the day, but when the bill came, there was an additional $4 charge for a bit of sauce. I hate surprises like that, and feel the server or menu ought to make something like that clear prior to or while taking orders.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crescent City Grill also viewed

 
 

Been to Crescent City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crescent City Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.