We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Never Stay Here Again.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Inn Hattiesburg

Save Saved
You added Guesthouse Inn Hattiesburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Guesthouse Inn Hattiesburg
6757 Highway 49, Hattiesburg, MS 39401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 32 hotels in Hattiesburg
House Springs, Missouri, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Will Never Stay Here Again.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the Northgate Inn in Hattiesburg, MS, on May 10, 2013. We have used this hotel on previous trips and have been thoroughly satisfied. This trip however, was a totally different story. The hotel is under new management and let me tell you, it shows. The room was not clean, the airconditioner was leaking on the carpet, and at 3:00 AM I finally called the Front Desk to complain about the noise in the parking lot. The front desk clerk said they would call the police. At 4:00 AM they sent the police to our room! Once they got there things quieted down. I can tell you that this will be our last stay at the Northgate Inn and I will by no means refer anyone else. When I mentioned this to the front desk in the morning there was no response.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
1
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, Arkansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed in this motel before I checked on trip advisor. I had driven 9 hours and wanted a room where I could park right in front of the room. The front desk was efficient and friendly which was appreciated. The 45 dollars made me worried about the room being too cheap. I need not have worried.King size bed with great pillows. Ultra clean with a perfect shower. Microwave, fridge and the coffee pot actually had drinkable coffee. (unlike most cheaper motels).My only negative comment is it is a little difficult to get off the highway from the east but from the Interstate it was fine.There were no bugs btw and no bedbugs.(I always check) I can absolutely recommend this Inn and put it on my Favorites on my GPS.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Guesthouse is an older hotel with a bar and restaurant on the property. It is older but clean and safe. The front desk people were helpful and polite. Nothing special but for a one night pass through it was fine. Didn't use the bar area but a lot of people did. It was full.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night while traveling through MS. The bed was clean, the guy at the front desk was nice and helpful upon checking in, and there is a fridge in the room, but that's where the pluses end. I got up during the night to use the bathroom and killed a roach near the toilet. Before returning to bed I turned on the bedroom light to adjust the air conditioner and saw another roach crawling on the front door. I attempted to kill it also but it scurried back through the crack to the outside of the room. Also, at 2:16 AM I was awakened by a dumpster being emptied. I'm not sure if this was the dumpster of the hotel or for the diner on the property but it was very loud with metal banging on metal, and also the reverse signal for the truck was loud. Stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Guesthouse Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your stay with us at Guesthouse Northgate Inn. I'm glad the service and location pleased you. I am sorry to hear about the insects in your room. We have scheduled insects prevention every two weeks in all of rooms. We have garbage pick-up twice a week and they arrive around 10AM. I was unaware of the dumpster being emptied at that time.

Thank you again for the response. We are working hard at Guesthouse Northgate Inn to correct all the situations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We were a little hesitant to stay here because of the previous comments, but after searching around, this was the best value in town. The front desk employees were very friendly and polite, and the room we stayed in was very clean. Normally, I don't write these things, but after seeing the negative comments, I felt obliged to put my two cents in. I would highly recommend this place to anyone staying in this area.

-Jim

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

This was the worse place I have ever been to, I can't believe how horrid it was. It was GHETTO, the service and ppl seem to be unfriendly as I am asian and my companion was white. They just stood up and stared at us. Once we got to the rooms, it stenched like sewage and we GAGGED!! DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

I'll preface this by saying I did not intend to stay here. My actual hotel reservation was in Gulfport, but I didn't finish working in Jackson until late and was too tired to drive back all the way to Gulfport.

This was only place with rooms b/c of graduation at the nearby university.

It was the absolute most disgusting place I've ever stayed in. Worse than any falling down hostel in Europe. Roaches and mold everywhere. Unsafe area.

Partying going on in courtyard until 4AM. I called the MOD and he told them which room I was in so the kids pounded on my door and the walls for another hour so to get back at me. I should have called the cops.

Used towels and wash cloths on the floor. Dirty sheets, etc. I slept in my clothes and cancelled my meeting the following day because I couldn't bear the thought of showering there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guesthouse Inn Hattiesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Inn Hattiesburg

Address: 6757 Highway 49, Hattiesburg, MS 39401
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 hotels in Hattiesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Guesthouse Inn Hattiesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northgate Hotel Hattiesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Inn Hattiesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.