We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6541 Highway 49, Hattiesburg, MS 39402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 32 hotels in Hattiesburg
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not great...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Trying to make an old hotel last a few more years...room was ok, bed comfortable, no pictures...looked like concrete block room. Ceiling bubbling and chipping, falling onto the beds...how safe is that?! Not impressed and won't be back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mo I, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Priscilla W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such an honest review of our performance. Your feedback allows us to better understand what we as a team and property need to improve on to later be able to provide exceptional service and recognition to all of our guests and grow as a property and team.

I would like to apologize in regards to the inconveniences to which you experienced throughout your stay. We are currently in the process of tackling these issues to the best of our abilities so that our future guests will have a relaxing and memorable stay.

Please do not let this most recent stay be the judge of us and how we as a property regularly operate. Your satisfaction is of great importance and I hope that you will consider staying with us again and granting us the opportunity of providing you with exceptional service in order to make things right

With our deepest of gratitude
Sincerely,
Mo Ismail
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    32
    10
    15
    9
See reviews for
24
11
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Ok we checked in air didnt work.... Got moved to another room went out for supper etc came back to take a shower and the water wouldnt even come on!!! Went and checked out!!! They need to have a note saying what rooms need repairs and not put people in them!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mo I, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Jbccmab,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a sincere review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Let me preface by stating that my team and I would like to sincerely apologize to you and your family for our inability to provide you with a relaxing and memorable stay.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as guidance regarding the areas to which we need to improve upon and with it we will make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I would like to once again thank you for your feedback and apologize for the inconvenience in which you experienced at our property. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Mo Ismail
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel due to traveling with dogs, but never will stay again.
This hotel is in bad need of some updating! Reception/Dining had old dirty furniture and carpet was disgusting. The rooms were clean. But the carpets were dirty and comforter had spots on it. Again, like the front of the hotel the rooms were outdated. The breakfast was as good as any other hotel, but due to the surroundings it was not quite as appealing.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone that is used to staying in a top chain hotel.
Some of the clientele was questionable. Also, there semi trucks parked across the front parking spaces.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob P, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at our hotel. I certainly agree that your unsatisfactory experiences do not respresent the level of service we strive to provide.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback, as it provides us with the information needed to correct problems and improve on the services we offer our guest. We hope to have the opportunity to provide accommodations for you in the future and show you how your remarks were used constructively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The staff at this Comfort Inn is what separates it from others. The rooms are comfortable, close to restaurants and shopping. The managers reception is the best of any Comfort Inn I have stayed at. I strongly recommend this hotel if you are in Hattiesburg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob P, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for coming and staying with us and we are excited to know that you enjoyed your stay. Our team works diligently to make sure that our guest are happy and comfortable throughout their stay here at the hotel. We are elated to here that you enjoyed the managers reception.

We again want to thank you for your comments and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My mother-in-law had open heart surgery at one of the nearby hospitals so we chose this place to stay since it was only about 5 minutes from the hospital. Rooms were nice, clean and big. Everything was included in the room which was very convenient. Great continental breakfast! Staff was friendly too. They even gave us a discount since we were hospital guests. The Pool was cloudy but we still swam. Only thing I didn't like was that the ice machine in our building wasn't working but there was another one in a nearby building so it wasn't so bad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mo I, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Mistywhatley,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay and our property’s performance. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Also, we would like to make a special thanks for coming and staying with us and we are excited and honored to know that your Comfort Inn experience was with our team here in Hattiesburg and that it was a positive one.

We hope to see you again and during your next visit, we will gladly have that breakfast hot and ready for you and those ice makers crunching out in every building.

Again, we thank you for coming and staying with us and we are ecstatic to welcome you to our Comfort Inn family!

Sincerely,
Mo Ismail
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rendon, Tx
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

What makes this a good deal is get the travel coupon..found in the La./Miss. Booklet, which you can get a most gas stations. The rooms are large and clean. Parking can be a problem, since the big rigs use the same parking areas. Numerous eateries nearby. We had a glass of wine at the reception ..nice touch...breakfast was pretty good..egg patties with fresh biscuits, plus other choices. All-in-all a good choice in Hattiesburg. Also the evening and morning desk personnel we courteous and accommodating...big plus when your tuckered out from a long drive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob P, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Fred, thank you so much for your sincere reviews and comments. From the entire team at the Comfort Inn we would like to thank you. Our team takes pride in ensuring that each guest that enters our doors is greeted by a gracious smile and southern hospitality. We do apologize for the parking issues with the big rig trucks, and the next time you visit us we will try to place you at a building with ample parking.

Again, we would like to say thank you for choosing Comfort Inn and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We used a coupon from the Travel Coupon book. The hotel's building is old and tired but the rooms are updated and renovated with a comfortable bed and large desk/work area that gave us plenty of space to eat our carry out dinner from Cracker Barrel nearby. The staff we encountered were friendly and took prompt, efficient care to get us to our room quickly. We enjoyed the free cocktails in the lobby bar. There are several low to mid priced hotels on this street, this one looks as old and tired as the others but it is a safe bet. The location is convenient for travelling this area and is close to the University.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Address: 6541 Highway 49, Hattiesburg, MS 39402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 hotels in Hattiesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn University 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is located on the intersection off Hwy 49 and Interstate 59. There are a large number of restaurants and shopping outlets within a 1-6 mile radius of our hotel. We are conveniently located close to The Lake Terrance Convention Center, The Country Club, and 3 miles south of HWY 49 is the University of Southern Mississippi. This convenient location attracts both business and leisure travelers to the area.Our hotel offers a hot complimentary breakfast each morning and complimentary manager’s reception with cocktails Tuesday – Thursday from 5;30 – 7:30. On the premises, we have an outdoor pool, a coin operated guest laundry facility, fitness center, and a picnic area with a grill. Each room includes wireless internet, a large desk, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, and an iron with an ironing board. At the front desk, we keep items that the guest may have forgotten to bring with them such as toothbrushes, toothpaste, deodorant, combs, shower caps, razors, shaving cream, sewing kits, etc.; all of these items are at no cost to the guest. For our guest laundry facility, we offer laundry detergent and fabric softener at a small charge to the guest. A friendly staff to greet every guest upon check-in and during their entire stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hattiesburg
Hattiesburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.