We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Property worth an extrra night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6541 Highway 49, Hattiesburg, MS 39402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 32 hotels in Hattiesburg
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Property worth an extrra night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The staff at this Comfort Inn is what separates it from others. The rooms are comfortable, close to restaurants and shopping. The managers reception is the best of any Comfort Inn I have stayed at. I strongly recommend this hotel if you are in Hattiesburg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob P, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for coming and staying with us and we are excited to know that you enjoyed your stay. Our team works diligently to make sure that our guest are happy and comfortable throughout their stay here at the hotel. We are elated to here that you enjoyed the managers reception.

We again want to thank you for your comments and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    33
    10
    15
    9
See reviews for
25
11
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My mother-in-law had open heart surgery at one of the nearby hospitals so we chose this place to stay since it was only about 5 minutes from the hospital. Rooms were nice, clean and big. Everything was included in the room which was very convenient. Great continental breakfast! Staff was friendly too. They even gave us a discount since we were hospital guests. The Pool was cloudy but we still swam. Only thing I didn't like was that the ice machine in our building wasn't working but there was another one in a nearby building so it wasn't so bad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mo I, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Mistywhatley,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay and our property’s performance. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Also, we would like to make a special thanks for coming and staying with us and we are excited and honored to know that your Comfort Inn experience was with our team here in Hattiesburg and that it was a positive one.

We hope to see you again and during your next visit, we will gladly have that breakfast hot and ready for you and those ice makers crunching out in every building.

Again, we thank you for coming and staying with us and we are ecstatic to welcome you to our Comfort Inn family!

Sincerely,
Mo Ismail
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rendon, Tx
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

What makes this a good deal is get the travel coupon..found in the La./Miss. Booklet, which you can get a most gas stations. The rooms are large and clean. Parking can be a problem, since the big rigs use the same parking areas. Numerous eateries nearby. We had a glass of wine at the reception ..nice touch...breakfast was pretty good..egg patties with fresh biscuits, plus other choices. All-in-all a good choice in Hattiesburg. Also the evening and morning desk personnel we courteous and accommodating...big plus when your tuckered out from a long drive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob P, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Fred, thank you so much for your sincere reviews and comments. From the entire team at the Comfort Inn we would like to thank you. Our team takes pride in ensuring that each guest that enters our doors is greeted by a gracious smile and southern hospitality. We do apologize for the parking issues with the big rig trucks, and the next time you visit us we will try to place you at a building with ample parking.

Again, we would like to say thank you for choosing Comfort Inn and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We used a coupon from the Travel Coupon book. The hotel's building is old and tired but the rooms are updated and renovated with a comfortable bed and large desk/work area that gave us plenty of space to eat our carry out dinner from Cracker Barrel nearby. The staff we encountered were friendly and took prompt, efficient care to get us to our room quickly. We enjoyed the free cocktails in the lobby bar. There are several low to mid priced hotels on this street, this one looks as old and tired as the others but it is a safe bet. The location is convenient for travelling this area and is close to the University.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a coupon which saved us quite a bit for the night with just the two of us. We were very pleased with our room - found it to be comfortably furnished, nice mattress, and very clean. We also found it to be very quiet - never heard a thing from another room. Check in and out and quick and efficient with friendly people. Looks like a nice pool and a nice area to sit if you have the time...which we didn't. A good stay!!

Room Tip: There are some rooms that have exterior and interior entrances and others that are only interior. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Accommodating!!!! This was our third stop at a motel today... Finally they had room... The lady at the front desk, had a line of people.. She was very efficient, but treated each one of us with kindness...it did not stop there. Everyone that we came in contact that worked here so nice... Rooms were clean. Good breakfast..Helpful staff!!!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The room itself was nice enough, comfortable to sleep and well furnished and internal doors. The lobby and fitness room were also nice. However, there were other parts of the stay that brought the experience down. The front desk staff were friendly on arrival, however the staff on the morning shift were incredibly rude not just to myself but 2 other guests waiting to check out.They were having a private conversation with a friend when one guest and then myself asked if we could quickly check out to get on the road only to be denied and wait 10 minutes for them to stop talking with their friend. The hotel itself had a very strong cigarette smell and when walking to reception after dark it appeared noticeably unsafe with a lady next to my room asking me to walk with her to her car as she had a few guys swear at her while drinking. This was probably a one off, but the noise was noticeable for reception and never stopped all night. I have seen other reviews where this has happened as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Address: 6541 Highway 49, Hattiesburg, MS 39402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 hotels in Hattiesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn University 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is located on the intersection off Hwy 49 and Interstate 59. There are a large number of restaurants and shopping outlets within a 1-6 mile radius of our hotel. We are conveniently located close to The Lake Terrance Convention Center, The Country Club, and 3 miles south of HWY 49 is the University of Southern Mississippi. This convenient location attracts both business and leisure travelers to the area.Our hotel offers a hot complimentary breakfast each morning and complimentary manager’s reception with cocktails Tuesday – Thursday from 5;30 – 7:30. On the premises, we have an outdoor pool, a coin operated guest laundry facility, fitness center, and a picnic area with a grill. Each room includes wireless internet, a large desk, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, and an iron with an ironing board. At the front desk, we keep items that the guest may have forgotten to bring with them such as toothbrushes, toothpaste, deodorant, combs, shower caps, razors, shaving cream, sewing kits, etc.; all of these items are at no cost to the guest. For our guest laundry facility, we offer laundry detergent and fabric softener at a small charge to the guest. A friendly staff to greet every guest upon check-in and during their entire stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hattiesburg
Hattiesburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.