We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a dump” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Hattiesburg - Univ Of Southern Ms

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Hattiesburg - Univ Of Southern Ms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Hattiesburg - Univ Of Southern Ms
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6508 US Hwy 49, I-59 at Exit #67A, Hattiesburg, MS 39401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 32 hotels in Hattiesburg
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It's a dump”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is your basic fleabag. I stayed there for three nights as decreed by my employer. The floor material is a wood-grained linoleum-like stuff. There is no carpeting, clock, shampoo. There is not even a cover lid on the toilet. The shower is a stall shoved into one corner of the tiny bathroom. The help at the front desk is surly and disinterested. I would never stay at this place no matter who is paying for it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    3
    2
    20
See reviews for
1
5
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I like Motel 6 because it is pet friendly and inexpensive. When I travel I am usually going from one place to another and am just staying overnight. I got a nice quiet room about 6:30 p.m. I asked to be able to park in front of my door, so I was situated at the back of the motel, away from the pool. It was quiet, I fed the dog and ate my packed food and went to sleep. No problems. I intend to stay here again on my way through Hattiesburg.

Room Tip: If you don't want to use the pool, ask for a room toward the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I've stayed at many Motel 6's and this one is about average for the chain. The room was reasonably clean, however the bed was tired and saggy and the air conditioner had two workable settiings - off and freezing. It is somewhat over-priced for its over-all condition.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

we had to go to office every day to get clean towels when we checked in they said maid would turn beds twice a week she never even cane in the room

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed here for a few hours of sleep while waiting for a flight out of Hattiesburg. We were only here for about 5-6 hours, but they were terrible. The price was right at $50, but after seeing the room, we would have been better off sleeping in the car. Just some notes about this place:

- Check-in happens at a window with bullet-proof glass
- Room is nasty, with stains & bugs everywhere
- The shower stall is like an upright plastic casket - barely big enough for a normal person
- Drunks roaming all over the property
- The place feels VERY unsafe, as it's in a bad area of HBG

If we had known the place was this bad, we would have avoided it. If you absolutely must stop for the night in Hattiesburg, go up the road a bit and spend the extra cash at a better place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

I always try to stay at Motel 6. Every (other) Motel 6 I've stayed at has been TOP Notch. I have 3 words for my stay at THIS Motel 6. BEDBUGS BEDBUGS BEDBUGS. Not even clasified as low rate. Motel 6 should take their name offf the building and BURN the rest. I also stayed at a Motel 6 in Meridian, Ms and that motel was also rated Top Notch in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central arkansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We were on our way to Florida for a family vacation, and was very tired from traveling. We decided to get a room for the night. We saw the $43 per night sign out front of the Motel 6, and thought that might be a good place to stay. WRONG!!!!! We stayed in the room next to the office, thinking this might be a quiet room. WRONG!!! We noticed the security guard walking up and down the road as we got our things out of the car. This should have told us to check out immediately, but we didn't. We went to take a shower, but there were no washcloths, I went to the office and asked for some, but was told they only had hand towels. There was no drink glass to go with the ice bucket. The floors were filthy, because our clean feet were dirty not long after the shower with the hand towel. To top all this off, the bed covers smelled, and there was activity outside of our room all night long. I spent half the night trying to figure out what the loud noise was that we kept hearing in our room. It was very annoying.

I only wished that I had read trip advisor before our trip. We really hadn't planned on staying in Hattiesburg, but that is where we ended up. There are many other hotels there that are nicer. Take my advice, and run from this one!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Hattiesburg - Univ Of Southern Ms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Hattiesburg - Univ Of Southern Ms

Address: 6508 US Hwy 49, I-59 at Exit #67A, Hattiesburg, MS 39401
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 hotels in Hattiesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Hattiesburg - Univ Of Southern Ms 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Hattiesburg - Univ Of Southern Ms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Hattiesburg
Hattiesburg Motel Six
Hattiesburg Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Hattiesburg - Univ Of Southern Ms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.