We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at extended stay and last....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn Hattiesburg

Sunset Inn Hattiesburg
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hattiesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Inn Hattiesburg
Save
You added Sunset Inn Hattiesburg to your Saves list
6560 US Hwy 49 North, Hattiesburg, MS 39401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“First time at extended stay and last....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I read some good reviews of this place and decided to stay for a night. Main reason was price and pet friendly. My cat had better taste than I! She decided the cat carrier was the best place to stay in the room and then at 11pm when the locals started chatting around a few beers she decided in bed next to my butt was safer...she is brave!
This was a dirty looking room although it was clean. The sheets were so worn they could be seen through. The towels were small and just 2. The kitchen tools are a horrible smell. Fridge was clean as was stove. I did not cook or use these items. TV was old model tube but remote was spotless even before my alcohol wipe. Carpet was not to be trusted and the chair had what looked like a large chocolate bar embedded in it. I advised the staff.

Staff was courteous and friendly. They did give me an occupied room the first time around. I asked for a ground floor and that was a mistake since it seems the regulars (long stay folk) are quite chatty with each other and this is fine...they make good neighbors for each other and watch out for things. This adds a safety factor. I do not fault them for their camaraderie! But the management needs to put one nights in a special area away from full timers so one can get some sleep.

Bottom line...part with the bucks if you want a nicer place to stay. Price with tax was $50, no breakfast or coffee, dirty ice machine, old and worn out. Friendly regulars!

Room Tip: I doubt there is one that meets my minimum and there are other options for a little more...but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

The maids are very very rude. They yell at you and pretty much force you to get service even though you don't need it. They roll their eyes ay you and speak angrily in another language while servicing your room. The comforters smells like.bad breathe...the room smells like a dirty buttcrack mixed with cigarette smoke...the a.c. makes a loud noise all night..they wipe the sinks with the same towel that they clean the toilets with and they don't wash the tubs out but they do pour the dirty water from their cleaning buckets into the tub before they leave your room...that's gross and I will never stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2005

Was unwilling to help out people in need after Hurricane Katrina! Manager was very unreasonable and bad-tempered! Unwilling to listen to the simplest request of putting up a notice in lobby to help out our brother after hurricane. Do you really want to stay in a place like that??

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HP2002, Manager at Sunset Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this review, March 1, 2010
We let everyone stay here(Scottish Inn) without any charge for almost a week right after the hurricane because we didn't have power/water/tv/phone etc.. for a week. But, if you think we didn't listen to your request i am really sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2004

A little better than "you get what you pay for". Cheap price, clean room. That's it. Don't expect anything extra. No amenities. And definitely no pool.

Our room didn't even have a chair - but some other rooms did. No extra roll of toilet paper either. Had to request enough clean towels too.

Was a little concerned about the location and slightly dark parking lot - but everything turned out ok.

Also, a language barrier with management when calling for directions prevented the rest of our party from reaching/finding hotel.

Good proximity to restaurants and interstate highway.

Would we stay here again? Probably - as all we did was use the room to shower and sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Inn Hattiesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn Hattiesburg

Address: 6560 US Hwy 49 North, Hattiesburg, MS 39401
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
46 Rooms Hotel with King, Double & Full size beds. Free Wi-Fi, Cable TV, Long Distance & Local Calls. Only 2 miles to University of Southern Miss, 2.5 miles to Forrest General Hospital, 12miles from Camp Shelby. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn Hattiesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.