We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hattiesburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hattiesburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Hattiesburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Gateway Drive, Hattiesburg, MS 39402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 32 hotels in Hattiesburg
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A great location in Hattiesburg and the region. The staff is always kind and wonderful. Hard to find friendly staff these days. Great job at this location. The upgrade to a suite styled room was awesome. A great place for one night or really great for longer stays. Spacious rooms and great kitchenette-like areas and table to eat at. The whirlpool tub in the room was perfect. The housekeeping staff here must work extra hours... the rooms were very clean. (The lobby decor is very strange, but at least it is original and unique).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    22
    19
    7
    24
See reviews for
30
11
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Hattiesburg to visit our daughter at college, and stayed at this hotel April 19 - April 21. To say we had a terrible experience would be an understatement.

We arrived on Friday night, and by bedtime there was a party raging in the hallways. At 2:30 a.m. we finally attempted to call the front desk, but there was no answer. Fifteen minutes later, we were finally able to get in touch with a young lady, who said she was away from the desk because she was attempting to break up the party. Unfortunately, she was only successful in moving the party out of the hallway. It seems the party was dispersed to two different places - the room next door and the parking lot. Car stereos boomed in the parking lot for some time, and the television blared from next door until around 3:30 a.m.

The next night, the prom crowd kept us awake until after 3:00 a.m. Also, there was obviously someone sick in the room next door, as they were coughing the entire night. The soundproofing between the rooms is so poor that it sounded like the sick person was in the same room as us.

On Sunday morning, we were too sleep-deprived to leave the hotel for breakfast, so we decided to dine in the restaurant. Bad decision. The eggs, bacon, potatoes, and sausage gravy on the buffet were all cold, and I pointed this out to our server. She replied that she would address this with the cook, but made no attempt to get any hot food out to us. Additionally, the housekeeping/wait staff (at least 7-10 people)`were eating breakfast from the buffet. Frankly, I believe it is extremely unprofessional for employees to eat food that should be reserved for the guests. Perhaps management should focus on caring for the guests' needs, rather than feeding their employees.

This establishment has one of the higher price points among hotels in the Hattiesburg area. We chose to stay at this hotel and pay a higher rate so that we could be assured of a comfortable night's rest. The management and staff miserably failed to provide this most basic necessity. We travel frequently, and Holiday Inn is often our hotel of choice. We have never stayed at a Holiday Inn that has presented us with so many problems, and have certainly never paid this rate to stay in a "party hotel".

Room Tip: Go to another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
I was very disappointed to hear of the problems you encountered. However, I do appreciate you bringing the matter to my attention. As the new General Manager I take great pride in the quality of product and services we offer our guests. It is obvious that we fell below those standards during your stay. I sincerely apologize for this and assure you that I will follow up on your comments.

Please accept my apology for any inconvenience you experienced. I have issued a full refund of to your MasterCard. I hope you will give us another try on your next visit to Hattiesburg to visit your daughter. If I can be of assistance, please feel free to contact me anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was in Hattiesburg to visit a relative in the area. Decided to stay at the Holiday Inn rather than imposing on my brother and his family. Upon arrival, the first impression was just OK. The decor of the lobby is a little odd. Got to the room, and again, it was just OK. Wasn't real impressed with the quality of cleanliness in the bathroom, actually, it was a little frightening. Lots of hair, stains in the toilet and tub, paper underneath the vanity. I called the front desk and they sent someone up who made a futile attempt to tidy up. It was better but still not "clean". About 2am Saturday morning there was a raging party going on in the room next door and in the hallway. I called the front desk 3 times but never got an answer. I finally went into the hall and found about a dozen college age kids drinking and just having a good ole time at the expense of everyone else. I asked them to keep the noise down and all they did was move the party into the room. The noise level never got better. After about another half hour I called the front desk again and still got no answer. Another 15 minutes went by and I got dressed and went to the lobby - there was no one to be found. I looked in every conceivable location and found not one person. After being in the lobby and around the 1st floor for a good 10 to 15 minutes I started to write a note to the clerk and she finally showed up. Her excuse was that she'd been making coffee. I had been trying to reach someone at the desk for the better part of 1 1/2 hours. Making coffee? Probably taking a nap somewhere. My wife and I were finally able to get some sleep about 4:30. It was absolutely the worst experience I've had in a hotel. I won't go back and certainly would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay. I was disappointed to read of the problems you encountered during your stay… However, I do appreciate you bringing the matter to our attention.

As the new General Manager we have our challenges and are working hard to correct those issues, I sincerely apologize for this and assure you that your issues will be resolved.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

When you check in they give you 2 free drink coupons, off to a great start there. They have a good restaurant as well as a nice selection of draft beers on tap whoohoo. Probably could use a complimentary breakfast though, 12.00 for breakfast doesn't work and nobody's buying it anyway or so it looked. another perk though is that this town or hotel buy location is just under a 2 hr run to the french quarter in New orleans, outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, MS
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I chose this hotel because I had to come to Hattiesburg for work and I am on a special diet. I wanted a cooktop in the rooom and reliable Internet service. Upon check in, I was not given a room with a cooktop despite being promised one when I made my reservation. Then when I it to my room I needed to send some email for work. The Internet would not connect, I was given 20 choices of which Internet to choose and I could not connect. The three things I needed, cooktop, Internet and cleanliness I did not get. Cleanliness was ok but there are half naked Greek statues in the lobby. If the hotel isn't for business travel who is it for?

There was ONE person at the check in desk at 3:00, who was very overwhelmed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Manager at Holiday Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
I was disappointed to here of the problems you encountered during your stay. As the New General Manager, I do appreciate you bringing the matter to my attention. We are currently working to improve our access points within the hotel for our wireless internet and as always wired service located at each guestroom desk.

I sincerely apologize for this and assure you that I will follow up on your comments with my staff concerning your room type.Please accept my apology for any inconvenience you experienced. If I can be of assistance, please feel free to contact me at anytime. (601-296-0302)

Sincerely,
Mark Ratcliff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is my first time to stay at this HI. I normally stay at the Staybridge Suites next door but they were booked however I may be switching to this hotel from now on. I enjoyed my stay. The lobby was really nice and pleasent. The room I had was a king with a sofa, separate kitchen area with full size fridge, micro, two burner stove and sink. Nice size room facing the interstate but I didnt hear any noise. The shower had good pressure and was warm in no time. I ordered room service and it was pretty good. Had the club sandwich and hot wings and it was delivered very quickly. All in all I would stay here again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Manager at Holiday Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
As the new General Manager, my staff and I take great pride in the quality of product and services we offer our guests. Reading your review gave me a great sense of pride in knowing that we have successfully met our goal of guest satisfaction. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated and will be shared with the entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I am very unhappy with my second visit at this property. First of all, let me briefly discuss my first experience. A couple of months ago, I stayed at this property and there were several things wrong with my room. First, there was pubic hair in the bed. I called the front desk and the housekeeper came to remake the bed with king bed sheets - though I had a queen bed. The toilet handle was broken, and to top it off, I had an executive suite with a full refrigerator and cook top; however, there were no pans, no utensils, no dishes, no paper towels, no dish cloths - NOTHING. I made a complaint and requested that management contact me upon checkout but I never heard anything from anyone. Being that I was in the area, and the hotel was conveniently located, I decided to give them a second chance. Upon entering the room, the room appeared to be clean UNTIL I went into the bathroom where the tub was nasty. The tub had dried gray substance on it, the shower head was unclean (someone's hand print was on it). Pictures are posted. By the way, it was room 307. They moved me to another room where once again there is a problem. The room had poor water pressure for the toilet system and it took forever for it to refill. The water is BROWN (what gives???) and to top it off, one of the towels in the bathroom had dark brown stains on it. You would think that housekeeping would have enough sense to have thrown the towel away - IF THEY CHECKED IT.... Damn shame!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear K C,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hattiesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hattiesburg

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hattiesburg Hotel
Holiday Inn Hattiesburg Hotel Hattiesburg
Hattiesburg Holiday Inn
Address: 10 Gateway Drive, Hattiesburg, MS 39402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Hattiesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hattiesburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites University-Hattiesburg, Mississippi is a full-service luxury hotel with 138 newly renovated guest rooms. Free wireless high-speed Internet access is available in all public areas, and in all guest rooms. This Hattiesburg hotel has approximately 2,500 sq. feet of event and meeting space and is available for corporate or social events. Bapa's Bistro restaurant & lounge is located inside the hotel and available for breakfast, dinner, & room service. Remember, Kids stay & eat free. Relax, it's a Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites. During your stay enjoy the indoor and outdoor swimming pool, on site fitness center, putting green, and tennis & basketball courts. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is located off of I-59 on US 49. The Hattiesburg-Laurel Regional Airport is 7 miles from the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, downtown Hattiesburg, Mississippi is only 4 miles. The hotel is convenient to the Lake Terrace Convention Center, Forrest General Hospital, Wesley Medical Center & Camp Shelby Military Base. Hattiesburg is home to the University of Southern Mississippi (USM), William Carey University and Pearl River Community College. While in town be sure to visit several area attractions including Turtle Creek Mall, the Hattiesburg Zoo and Gulf Coast Casinos. Several area golf courses are just a short drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Hattiesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hattiesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.