We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty small but works for hattiesburg” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hattiesburg Zoo

Hattiesburg Zoo
107 S. 17th Ave, Hattiesburg, MS 39401
601-545-4576
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“pretty small but works for hattiesburg”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

It is a small zoo but I am glad that Hattiesburg actually has a zoo. The jaguar was absolutely gorgeous and the way it winded you around made you feel like it was just a little bit bigger than it was. A perfect thing to do on a sunny day!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    23
    8
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“I cannot believe how this place has changed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I took my husband here a couple of months ago and I had not been there in 20 years. This place has undergone major renovations. I was so impressed. What a great place to have in my hometown. I will definitely take my nieces and nephews they next time I see them. We had a great day at the zoo. The weather was nice and we just had a good time seeing all of the attractions.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good for small size zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a very nice zoo for the size. Also, there is a train ride and splash pad for kids. They have special events on holidays too. "ZooBoo" during Halloween and lights/decorations during Christmas.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good zoo for a small city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Good layout for viewers. The zoo has a variety of habitats that were more natural and appropriate for the animals. Impressive for a city this size.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Small But Cute”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Great prices, friendly staff, and nice exhibits. It is a small zoo but still fun. The info on all the animals was interesting and you could see the animals almost no matter where they sat. There were a few interactive things to play with and food to feed a few animals with. I liked how they grouped some animals together like they are in nature. There was even a small petting zoo and one staff member had a spider we could hold. I loved the photo op areas and how they let the peacocks just wild.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hattiesburg Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Hattiesburg Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hattiesburg Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.