We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There we go!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leatha's Bar-B-Que Inn

Leatha's Bar-B-Que Inn
6374 U S Highway 98, Hattiesburg, MS 39402-7514
601-271-6003
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 211 Restaurants in Hattiesburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“There we go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stumbled on this place lunchtime, was so glad I did. The place much to look at, but was clean and staff welcomed me right away. Ordered the pork rib plate.
You ever eat a meal, and although your tummy is full you are a little sad because the food is gone? Yea that good!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    31
    18
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Amazing BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were traveling through MS & decided to try due to the recommendations. While the looks of this place may of been questionable, the food that comes from this place is outstanding. The BBQ was delicious as were the sides. My husband, not a big fan of BBQ, fell in love with the ribs. What stood out the most was their wonderful BBQ sauce. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Real BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Anyone complaining about the look of this place has no business reviewing BBQ joints. It is rustic but clean and they're putting out quality meat. The pork ribs were fall off the bone tender and delicious. Split the large rib plate with my wife, but wish i'd gotten all for myself because meat was so good.

Side items were hit or miss: beans seemed like dressed up out of the can and slaw seemed like packaged mix with honey mustard on it. The fried potatoes were tasty. Didn't try the potato salad but wish we had because it looked good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Don't let the outside appearance fool you. This is one of the best BBQ restaurants I've been to. You get a ton for your money and the staff is friendly. My only con was that they don't seem to have set hours of operation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Barbeque like none I have ever had”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

I finally got to Leathas . Upon , arriving there,I was rather, surprised.,
it looked more like a back woods general store. The interior was clean, but had nothing to make you take notice.We were greeted by Leatha who said her ribs were the best in town. We ordered the pork ribs,baked beans,and potato salad. The potato salad was good, The beans were extremely sweet, and the ribs were just like none I have ever eaten. They were overcooked,and they were not fresh . They were so over cooked the bones were soft.We have had BBQ in many states, and until today we thought Missouri, was our least favorite. Sorry Ms Leatha, but our first was our last. I give you an A for effort.


  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leatha's Bar-B-Que Inn also viewed

 

Been to Leatha's Bar-B-Que Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leatha's Bar-B-Que Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.