We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Hattiesburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Hattiesburg to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Hattiesburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 Grand Drive, Hattiesburg, MS 39401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

During the Christmas Holidays, we stayed at the Residence Inn in Hattiesburg, MS for one night. I must say, I was very impressed with the cleanliness and quality of the hotel. Very friendly staff and modern decorated rooms. It was the next best thing to being at your own home. I enjoyed the continental breakfast the following morning, it was one of the best I have seen with an impressive variety. I appreciated the healthy options of food that was offered also.

The only minor thing that I did not like at this hotel was the fact that it offered no covered parking area adjacent to the lobby for guests arrival. We arrived with our luggage and had to park far away from the front entrance. We were soaked with rain by the time we carried our luggage inside the hotel. Not very well designed. The hotel is not visible from major roadways either, if we had not booked online..I would have never known this hotel was in the area. Although, it is positioned near a huge cinema...so if you have nothing to do, your within walking distance to some entertainment. Overall..I thought the hotel was outstanding and we really enjoyed our brief stay. Thanks to the staff for being so friendly and maintaining a clean hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floors way from elevators are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hot-n-Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Mississippi
Level Contributor
98 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed at the Residence Inn November 17-19. My husband was arriving home via Camp Shelby after a year's tour overseas. Traveling from the Jackson area, I wanted a hotel room for two nights that was clean, affordable, and big enough for the kids. The Residence Inn was quite a nice surprise! Not only were the rooms clean, the staff friendly, but my kids enjoyed their waffle breakfast every morning by the fireplace. The hotel is hidden off the interstate, but still gives easy access to everything in the area. Their Courtyard chain is also directly across the parking lot from Residence.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcb602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We'd made reservations to stay here one night enroute to Florida, since our 25lb corgi was to travel with us and they advertise themselves as "Pet Friendly". Thankfully, we looked at the pet policy details, which include a hundred-dollar "pet fee" (non-refundable) to have your pet stay with you. Not a "deposit", but an actual taxable charge added, regardless of whether any damages or cleaning are incurred.
When I asked "Rhonda" about this, she began to regale me with horror stories of irresponsible pet owner, and how we were really lucky they even allowed pets. I told her I considered their fee excessive, and she replied that she didn't need to suffer abuse over it. Fine, we cancelled and reserved at the Hampton. 25 dollars per night for pets.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 0tt0d0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stayed one night in this hotel. Very clean, quite rooms. Staff was friendly and helpful. Well located with plenty of restaurants close by and easy acess to interstate.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike9604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
304 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We had a hard time finding this as my GPS sent us on a wild goose chase (similar street name but totally wrong location). It was GREAT once we found it and checked in. Our suite was spacious, nicely decorated, clean, with 2 HDTVs (perfect for football), and lots of light for reading. Quiet too. Nice variety for breakfast with HOT coffee :) All in all another place I'd like to return to if in this area again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhDNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, MS
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Absolutely love the homey concept of residence inns. Check into hotel and was very satisfied with the accommodations. Although I stayed in a 2 bedrm 2 bath suite, there was enough room for 4 people. We had a king bed, queen bed, and pull out sofa. The sofa bed was very comfortable. The suite was roomy and clean. Hotel staff could have been a little better, but the room made up for their attitude. Full breakfast with a large variety of tasty food. The type breakfast would have cost around $10 at a local restaurant. This is a great hotel for a small city like Hattiesburg, Mississippi. It's a little difficult to get to the hotel because it is not on the main "drag", but once you get there it is worth it. I did feel that the room was a little pricey at $200, but we were all comfortable.

Room Tip: The lobby is around by the pool, not right when you pull in the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gumdrop59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Our large family had rooms reserved for wedding in Hattiesburg, and we will be sure to stay here for any future trips. Residence Inn is fairly new and in tip top condition. We had a one bedroom suite which was roomy, everything sparkling clean, very quiet, and a great price. Our grandkids enjoyed the small pool and spa pool and afterward there was plenty of room in our room for all seven of us to relax and enjoy the popcorn provided by the hotel. The kitchen area had a full size refrigerator with ice maker, cooktop, toaster, microwave, coffee maker and enough dishes and cooking utensils for a longer stay. There was a long sofa which makes into a bed, four chairs and a stool, a king size bed, an eating table and a desk plus a large screen TV on a swivel on top of a chest with drawers which could rotate to face the bed or the sitting area. The breakfast at no extra charge and was a full hot buffet of eggs, sausage, biscuits, potatoes, fruit, cereal, waffles, bagels, muffins, juice, coffee, etc. There was a small "market" with food items, and an order form for other basic groceries which the hotel could deliver to the room the same day if ordered in the morning. There was also a nice coin-operated laundry in the hotel for guests to use. The hotel is very conveniently located a block from I-59 at Hardy Street with two good restaurants as neighbors.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi43833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda C, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Hattiesburg, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful comments! We are so glad you had a great stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hattiesburg hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Hattiesburg - I-59
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hattiesburg
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hattiesburg
Hilton Garden Inn Hattiesburg
#4 of 37 in Hattiesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER University Inn
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Hattiesburg
2.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hattiesburg
Candlewood Suites Hattiesburg
#5 of 37 in Hattiesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Hattiesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Hattiesburg

Address: 116 Grand Drive, Hattiesburg, MS 39401
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Hattiesburg 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all-suite Hattiesburg, MS hotel is near the University of Southern Mississippi, as well as Camp Shelby, Forrest General Hospital, and Longleaf Trace. Canebrake Country Club, Timberton Golf Club, and Hattiesburg Country Club offer excellent golfing. Gulfport beaches and Biloxi casinos are an easy drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Hattiesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Hattiesburg Hotel Hattiesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing