We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Hattiesburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Hattiesburg to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Hattiesburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 Grand Drive, Hattiesburg, MS 39401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

During the Christmas Holidays, we stayed at the Residence Inn in Hattiesburg, MS for one night. I must say, I was very impressed with the cleanliness and quality of the hotel. Very friendly staff and modern decorated rooms. It was the next best thing to being at your own home. I enjoyed the continental breakfast the following morning, it was one of the best I have seen with an impressive variety. I appreciated the healthy options of food that was offered also.

The only minor thing that I did not like at this hotel was the fact that it offered no covered parking area adjacent to the lobby for guests arrival. We arrived with our luggage and had to park far away from the front entrance. We were soaked with rain by the time we carried our luggage inside the hotel. Not very well designed. The hotel is not visible from major roadways either, if we had not booked online..I would have never known this hotel was in the area. Although, it is positioned near a huge cinema...so if you have nothing to do, your within walking distance to some entertainment. Overall..I thought the hotel was outstanding and we really enjoyed our brief stay. Thanks to the staff for being so friendly and maintaining a clean hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floors way from elevators are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    18
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
17
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed at the Residence Inn November 17-19. My husband was arriving home via Camp Shelby after a year's tour overseas. Traveling from the Jackson area, I wanted a hotel room for two nights that was clean, affordable, and big enough for the kids. The Residence Inn was quite a nice surprise! Not only were the rooms clean, the staff friendly, but my kids enjoyed their waffle breakfast every morning by the fireplace. The hotel is hidden off the interstate, but still gives easy access to everything in the area. Their Courtyard chain is also directly across the parking lot from Residence.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We'd made reservations to stay here one night enroute to Florida, since our 25lb corgi was to travel with us and they advertise themselves as "Pet Friendly". Thankfully, we looked at the pet policy details, which include a hundred-dollar "pet fee" (non-refundable) to have your pet stay with you. Not a "deposit", but an actual taxable charge added, regardless of whether any damages or cleaning are incurred.
When I asked "Rhonda" about this, she began to regale me with horror stories of irresponsible pet owner, and how we were really lucky they even allowed pets. I told her I considered their fee excessive, and she replied that she didn't need to suffer abuse over it. Fine, we cancelled and reserved at the Hampton. 25 dollars per night for pets.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011 via mobile

Stayed one night in this hotel. Very clean, quite rooms. Staff was friendly and helpful. Well located with plenty of restaurants close by and easy acess to interstate.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We had a hard time finding this as my GPS sent us on a wild goose chase (similar street name but totally wrong location). It was GREAT once we found it and checked in. Our suite was spacious, nicely decorated, clean, with 2 HDTVs (perfect for football), and lots of light for reading. Quiet too. Nice variety for breakfast with HOT coffee :) All in all another place I'd like to return to if in this area again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, MS
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Absolutely love the homey concept of residence inns. Check into hotel and was very satisfied with the accommodations. Although I stayed in a 2 bedrm 2 bath suite, there was enough room for 4 people. We had a king bed, queen bed, and pull out sofa. The sofa bed was very comfortable. The suite was roomy and clean. Hotel staff could have been a little better, but the room made up for their attitude. Full breakfast with a large variety of tasty food. The type breakfast would have cost around $10 at a local restaurant. This is a great hotel for a small city like Hattiesburg, Mississippi. It's a little difficult to get to the hotel because it is not on the main "drag", but once you get there it is worth it. I did feel that the room was a little pricey at $200, but we were all comfortable.

Room Tip: The lobby is around by the pool, not right when you pull in the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Our large family had rooms reserved for wedding in Hattiesburg, and we will be sure to stay here for any future trips. Residence Inn is fairly new and in tip top condition. We had a one bedroom suite which was roomy, everything sparkling clean, very quiet, and a great price. Our grandkids enjoyed the small pool and spa pool and afterward there was plenty of room in our room for all seven of us to relax and enjoy the popcorn provided by the hotel. The kitchen area had a full size refrigerator with ice maker, cooktop, toaster, microwave, coffee maker and enough dishes and cooking utensils for a longer stay. There was a long sofa which makes into a bed, four chairs and a stool, a king size bed, an eating table and a desk plus a large screen TV on a swivel on top of a chest with drawers which could rotate to face the bed or the sitting area. The breakfast at no extra charge and was a full hot buffet of eggs, sausage, biscuits, potatoes, fruit, cereal, waffles, bagels, muffins, juice, coffee, etc. There was a small "market" with food items, and an order form for other basic groceries which the hotel could deliver to the room the same day if ordered in the morning. There was also a nice coin-operated laundry in the hotel for guests to use. The hotel is very conveniently located a block from I-59 at Hardy Street with two good restaurants as neighbors.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda C, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Hattiesburg, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful comments! We are so glad you had a great stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Hattiesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Hattiesburg

Address: 116 Grand Drive, Hattiesburg, MS 39401
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hattiesburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hattiesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Hattiesburg 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all-suite Hattiesburg, MS hotel is near the University of Southern Mississippi, as well as Camp Shelby, Forrest General Hospital, and Longleaf Trace. Canebrake Country Club, Timberton Golf Club, and Hattiesburg Country Club offer excellent golfing. Gulfport beaches and Biloxi casinos are an easy drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Hattiesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Hattiesburg Hotel Hattiesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Hattiesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.