We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beachfront” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Gulfport Beachfront

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Gulfport Beachfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Gulfport Beachfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 East Beach Boulevard (Highway 90 & Pratt Avenue), Gulfport, MS 39501-2103 (Formerly Gulfport Beachfront Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 27 hotels in Gulfport
Joplin, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“beachfront”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We enjoyed the staff at this hotel. As a matter of fact I have about decided that the nicest people on earth live in Mississippi. We had a great experience with the staff at two different Marriotts in two different parts of the state. The staff was excellent, friendly, informative. We walked in just as they were setting out fresh baked cookies. It was amazing timing on our part! The beach is across the ocean highway so it's not exactly beachfront, by my definition. It did have a beautiful view of the ocean though. The hotel was clean and quiet. I did notice they have a small bar in the lobby area. We didn't partake in the bar area but it was quiet and looked very inviting. I would recommend staying at this hotel if you are in the area.

Room Tip: We simply asked for an ocean view and we received it. I would return to this hotel if ever I am bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    46
    40
    13
    8
See reviews for
49
41
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

If in Gulfport, this is a great place to stay. Clean, friendly staff, good breakfast and lovely view of the beach. Large parking area and right across the street from the beach. Breakfast is very reasonably priced in a nice spacious area, very friendly service and an egg and omelet station included. Free wi-fi and computer station available. Everyone at the hotel was as friendly as could be. They provided directions to sites nearby and offered assistance and helpful answers to all questions. The rooms are nice with comfortable beds, large tv and refrigerators. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: As for a beach view. It is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed one night on beach in Gulfport, MS while enroute to New Orleans, LA. This hotel is a former Holiday Inn Express which absorbed the full flood surge wrath of Hurricane Katrina in 2003. In fact there is a very interesting video of Katrina's assault on the property which is played non stop in the lobby and which is available on an in house channel on your room TV. Ocean view room really looks at the shallow waters and man made beaches of the Mississippi Sound and not the Gulf of Mexico; but it's still pretty. Room was fine and bedding was comfortable. Service in and out was efficient and staff readily offered an excellent restaurant recommendation for dinner. There is no free breakfast at this facility.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Mississippi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Room was nice with the gulf view from the 4th floor. Spent 3 nights there for an event being hosted by the hotel and the staff was great. The breakfast at the restaurant is pricey but is dang good.

I was told that the hotel is about to start a total remodel and they are adding on to the building.

Room Tip: Ask for GULF VIEW, the train to the north of the building can be loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry,MS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Rooms are nice. Bedding is comfortable. I was surprised that there was no microwave in the rooms. I guess they are trying to get you downstairs to the rather expensive restaurant for breakfast. The hallways and elevator were a bit muggy.
The staff was great! Everyone was very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Hotel nice, staff nice, rooms very, very dusty(pictures, lamp shades, yuck). Apparently no time limit on pool an hot tub. Drunk guest loud NIGHTLY from 1:30 - 3:00 am. Also, advertised "gulf front". Four lane highway between hotel and beach - all hotels r n this area but felt that was misleading. No balconys. Was not really impressed with our first visit to Gulfport.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at this location. We even stayed in the same room. This is a nice hotel on the beach. Our view was of the beach and ocean. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

The issues: the lobby and elevator lobby are very muggy, inside the elevator and the elevator lobby on all 5 floors. The room Is better as it has AC; however, it runs none stop and quite loud.

We stayed 2 nights. Each night I had to kill small roaches- one each night. Just a couple and only in the bathroom. (I will inform the staff at checkout).

Overall, it's a little pricy for the issues, but I suppose that is because it's a beach hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Gulfport Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Gulfport Beachfront

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gulfport Beachfront Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott Gulfport Beachfront Hotel Gulfport
Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront
Gulfport Marriott
Gulfport Courtyard
Address: 1600 East Beach Boulevard (Highway 90 & Pratt Avenue), Gulfport, MS 39501-2103 (Formerly Gulfport Beachfront Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gulfport
#7 Family Hotel in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Gulfport Beachfront 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Gulfport Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Gulfport Beachfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.