We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Gulfport Beachfront

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Gulfport Beachfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Gulfport Beachfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 East Beach Boulevard (Highway 90 & Pratt Avenue), Gulfport, MS 39501-2103 (Formerly Gulfport Beachfront Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 28 hotels in Gulfport
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel and staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We went for a quick weekend get away and found a gem of a hotel. Every hotel has beds and bathrooms but few have personality. This staff made an ordinary stay extra ordinary from check in to breakfast and the friendly bar tender all made this limited service hotel anything but!! We look forward to our next quick get away!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    52
    43
    14
    9
See reviews for
54
44
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I arrived to the hotel around 1 am hoping to catch a few hours of sleep before a 9 am meeting. Little did I know that a freight train runs every two hours (2:30, 4:30, 6:30) during the night with horns blazing. Good luck getting any sleep. In addition the air conditioning was just as loud as the train when it cycled on and off all night. I stayed in room 315 which is way to close to the ice machine and coke machines which are in the hall way (not in a closed in room) so between the trains, the AC and the ice machine cycling all night there was not much sleep. The rooms need updating, the carpet is so thin, even with socks on you feel the floor through the carpet. If I ever find myself in Gulfport I will stay somewhere else - Gold Status with Marriott doesn't mean that I will always stay at a Marriott, I do need to be able to sleep!

Room Tip: ask for a room that doesn't back onto the rail road tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Absolutely wonderful hotel and experience. The staff was friendly and courteous. My room was clean and had a view of the beach! Highly recommend for anyone looking for a relaxing weekend at the beach with a couple of fun nights at the casinos mixed in!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are waaaaaay overpriced.... Our room was dirty and for you business travelers there is no way to secure your company laptop... Period. No one did anything to correct anything and I will NEVER stay here again .... Look for different accommodations there are plenty of better alternatives! And tiny flying bugs!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Hotel is actually across a very busy street, but the view of the Gulf was wonderful. The hotel was an old Holiday Inn conversion. The Lobby was huge and very nice, the rooms were a generation behind and needed updating. but the rooms were spotless. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. A very serviceable Courtyard.

Room Tip: The neighborhood behind is a little dodgy, the Gulf-side is preferable, but will cost more. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

From the moment we checked in til the moment we checked out the staff went above and beyond the call of duty to make us comfortable and very welcome. We arrived early on March 24.2013 (about 1pm), i wasn't sure if a room would be available, but we were given a room right away. Yay! Check in was smooth and carts were provided for our baggage. Our room was clean and welcoming. The beds were not too soft, and not too hard, and there were soft pillows galore. We had brought our own just in case, but they were not needed. We had brought 4 bikes with us and after scoping out the parking lot there wasn't much in the ways of locking them up. I went to the desk and asked and the man working there where we could lock them up, he said to put them in the office. That was a HUGE help as locking them on the carrier was going to be a pain. I couldn't believe they would offer space for them. I felt a little bad as the bikes are cruiser bikes and took up quite a bit of space. They assured me it was fine and were super nice each time we bothered them to get them. So i cant say enough about the office staff...but they were top notch and were patient with all the questions i asked about the casinos. We were traveling with our teens and wanted to hit a few casinos, they directed us to one that had a kid friendly arcade. The maintenance workers and cleaning staff were also very friendly, and were greeted with a smile and friendly hello from each. The hotel with interior rooms and with all the help around i felt very safe and at ease letting my 13, and 15 year old with autism travel around the hotel by themselves. The grounds were clean and parking was abundant. Getting in and out of the hotel into traffic was easy. The gym was fantastic! The cardio machines were comparable to the ones i pay for at my gym. Three treadmills, 2 ellipticals, 1 recumbent bike, 1 stationary bike, and free weights..its all you really need to get your burn on. The pool was too cold for my husband and i to get in, my sons however got in. If i was going to complain about anything it would be the fact the pool was not heated, thus the Jacuzzi was overrun with toddlers. I didn't care, i was there just to soak up some rays anyhow and wasn't interested in getting in the pool or jacuzzi anyhow. I have 2 other small complaints. One would be the lack of a microwave in the room. There is one in the lobby but going down from the fourth floor to the first to microwave popcorn was a bit of a bother but nothing too huge to complain about. The other would be the amount of full size towels given per day. You are given 4, and maybe im a bit of a towel hog, as i use one to wrap my hair up in, and the other to dry off with. Plus i was traveling with three others, well it would have been nice to have more on hand. In the scheme of things these are really small things and in the case of the towels, i am sure the cleaning staff would have been accommodating had i asked for additional towels. All in all we had a fantastic time and will definitely be back. Thank you to the staff at Marriott for making us feel at home.

After reading some of the comments i thought i would remark on the complaints about the train...We had our fan on, on the Ac and unless you are a light sleeper you wont be bothered. The internet seemed fine for me, actually a lot better then some of the wifi in hotels i have been in, i wouldn't say it is as strong as my connection at home, but it was tolerable and could stream netflix and hulu, and you tube wasnt sluggish either. Hope that helps.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Each and every year this Courtyard Marriott Gulfport Beachfront Hotel allows two (2) large groups to take ALL of otheir rooms. They do not give the general public even a CHANCE to stay one (1) night at their facility.

Consumers think that they should be able to stay at this hotel during the special week of Cruising on the Coast held in the month of October every year.

But, they allow the same people to take the rooms each year, and do not give any concern to the general public.

Room Tip: During the Cruising on the Coast in October every year, this hotel is booked. They only provide the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Gulfport Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Gulfport Beachfront

Address: 1600 East Beach Boulevard (Highway 90 & Pratt Avenue), Gulfport, MS 39501-2103 (Formerly Gulfport Beachfront Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Gulfport Beachfront 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Gulfport Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gulfport Beachfront Hotel Gulfport
Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront
Gulfport Courtyard
Gulfport Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Gulfport Beachfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.