We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Port City Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Port City Cafe
2418 14th St, Gulfport, MS 39501-2019
228-868-0037
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 197 Restaurants in Gulfport
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Gulfport, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“1st Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I've enjoyed Port City Cafe many times for lunch. Lunches are a great break from high priced, fancy dishes from other restaurants. Breakfast is a real treat. Shrimp grits, an assortment of biscuit options, egg and toast dishes like Mom use to make--great comfort foods with an inviting atmosphere that great for an early morning business meeting. Port City Cafe deserves a try. When you go ask for hot tea. Now that was different.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beyond terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My mother-in-law and I ordered fried shrimp thinking that it would be the safe route to go since our family had never eaten there before. We were wrong. The breading didn't stay on the shrimp which allowed us to see that they don't devein their shrimp. EWWWW. The shrimp was also overcooked and tasted extremely fishy like it was really old. There was trash and food on the floors like they hadn't been swept and the table we were sat at was missing a leg so it kept flopping over. When we brought it to the attention of our waitress she apologized, grabbed the napkins off of our table and stuffed them under the post. I personally would have got up and left after that but being that my father-in-law was paying I didn't want to make a big deal out of it. I will never ever go there again. As a small business owner myself I try and support other small businesses but that place and food was just NASTY.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Always enjoy the relaxed atmosphere and home town spirit of Port City Cafe. Good, consistent food, good service.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Creole done right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Nice selection and god eats, however the service was a little slow for a post-lunch visit. No beer or wine either, which would have been nice after the drive in from Jackson, MS

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Pretty good homestyle cooking, though the place needs a supreme cleaning and makeover. Decent prices on plate specials.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port City Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Port City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port City Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.