We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolphin Hurricane Survivors at Atlantis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Institute for Marine Mammal Studies

The Institute for Marine Mammal Studies
10801 Dolphin Lane, Gulfport, MS 39503
+1 228-896-9182
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Attractions in Gulfport
Attraction details
Gambrills, Maryland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Dolphin Hurricane Survivors at Atlantis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a review to honor the surviving dolphins of Hurricane Katrina that have been taken to Dolphin Cay at Atlantis Paradise Island in The Bahamas. These fun loving creatures are very lucky to be alive in Dolphin Cay being raised by parent like trainers. I recently met a dolphin named Jill at Dolphin Cay and I think she was one of the survivors. She was so cute and happy to be with me and her trainers! The Dolphins at Dolphin Cay should be happy every single day that they survived that horrible wreckage to the Aquarium in Gulfport and were taken to Paradise!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    7
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
564 reviews 564 reviews
233 attraction reviews
Reviews in 203 cities Reviews in 203 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“Great dolphin encounter!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The museum is forgettable, but if you pay for the dolphin encounter you will get time to see the touch tank and interact with dolphins doing various tricks. There are a few hidden fees when you book, but touching the dolphin does make up for it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Also known as IMMS (Institute for Marine Mammal Studies)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This place requires reservations. I didn't realize this and showed up without them. They were nice enough to let us tour anyway. They have an educational program and you can touch sharks and rays in their pool. They also take you out to show you the dolphins and sea lions that are there. They train them to do tricks and work. Two of the dolphins are actually US marines. We really loved this place. I only wish I had loads of cash to help them in their rescue efforts.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You need reservations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I wasn't aware that we needed reservations to tour this wonderful place. Imagine my disappointment when we were told this! They quickly put us in with the next tour group when I explained they were the reason we were even in Gulfport MS. They are very informative and friendly. The dolphin and sea lion training sessions were our favorite part. My daughter who is legally blind was chosen to help a dolphin do a trick. It was a great time. Oh, they also have a touching pool. There are nurse sharks, rays and different types of fish in the pool.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best 10$ you will ever spend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I took my 17 month old son today and he loved it. Skipper was our guide and he did an excellent job of presenting all the info and explained what they do. We got to pet sharks, sting rays, snakes, and of coarse dolphins. My so loved all of it. The sealiob presentation at the end was an added surprise. We will be back. Can't believe that it was only $10.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Institute for Marine Mammal Studies also viewed

 

Been to The Institute for Marine Mammal Studies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Institute for Marine Mammal Studies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.